We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a delicious tart...!”
Review of The Fulling Mill

The Fulling Mill
Ranked #11 of 118 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$33
Cuisines: Bar, British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“What a delicious tart...!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I have previously visited this restaurant when it was The Glass House. So thought I'd give The Fulling Mill a try. It's a quaint place to eat with the mills cogs and wheels working around you! The food was delicious and most of all the pudding, Lemon Tart with a raspberry sorbet in a brandy snap basket, yum yum yum yum yum- could have eaten that again! Delicious!

Helpful?
2 Thank Kapowell17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    206
    49
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This Restaurant has changed its name, it used to be The Glass House. We looked at the menu, and it seems to be reasonably priced considering the Lakes general prices. They serve Sunday lunch from 1200 to 1430. We were impressed, the meal was very good, they certainly have a Chef who knows how to make Yorkshire Pudding. Everything was cooked just right. The staff were pleasant, and we enjoyed our Lunch. Another visit is on the cards.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eds186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stop off”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

It was very nice & handy being next to the car park.. Lovely staff & nice menu. Soup was delicious. Wanted to revisit this week but it appears closed?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TracyLeith1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very nice meal! The staff were all very helpful and friendly,service was very prompt and both starters and main meals were very tasty.my only complaint would be my chicken was a tiny bit dry- but other than this a very nice evening was had,fantastic value for money.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great start to our holiday!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Having read the previous reviews on Trip Advisor, The Fulling Mill was on our list of restaurants to visit; we certainly weren't disappointed.
We were glad to have booked earlier in the afternoon as the restaurant was full and passing customers were disappointed not to get a table. As we'd arrived early we started with a drink in the downstairs bar area which has a relaxed, warm atmosphere.
The food itself was delicious. Between us we had the goat's cheese salad and pulled pork as our starters, rump of lamb for main (with the softest dauphinoise potoatoes I've ever had the pleasure of eating) and a sticky toffee pudding and raspberry crème brûlée for dessert. The menu has a footnote explaining that there may be a wait between courses as the food is cooked to order; the wait was minimal and we both felt it was a shame that a restaurant serving fresh food should have to explain this!
All of the staff were accommodating and polite, checking between courses that everything was ok. After dinner we finished with a nightcap in the bar and had a brief and pleasant chat with the owner about the restaurant. We shared a lovely bottle of prosecco with our dinner and there appeared to be a good selection of wines.
I would highly recommend visiting The Fulling Mill and am tempted to visit again before returning home!

Helpful?
4 Thank hayles8330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fulling Mill also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Fulling Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing