We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay by the Lake”
Review of YHA Ambleside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Stay by the Lake”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Beautiful location on Lake Windermere. Rooms were simple but comfortable. Showers and toilets were clean although slanting roof made it a bit tricky for someone as tall as me. Being able to hire kayaks from just outside was a nice touch. Breakfast buffet was great. Self catering kitchen was big and well equipped.

Room Tip: Get one on the lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladvonbounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks for your review, if you find yourself swinging through this way again be sure to ask us where the showers for tall people are.....honestly we have some :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    145
    35
    10
    9
See reviews for
120
80
42
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Must be one of the best locations in the Lakes on the banks of Windermere with its own private jetty. Stayed three nights in a well decorated dorm. Showers and toilets seemed to be everywhere as were, the very helpful staff.
The self catering kitchen was well equipped and our pre booked three course meal for twenty of us was was fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dexter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks for your review, I'm happy to hear everything went well with your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Last min decision to visit Lake District and this was first YHA place I've stayed and will defiantly again, the staff couldn't of been better, hostel was like a 3-4 stars hotel very clean and well presented.we brought our own kayaks and enjoyed the lake in the evening,

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Tim

I'm glad you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Arrived on a glorious afternoon, staff were very helpful, rooms were clean and functional with great views over the lake. Staff were very eager and we enjoyed breakfast before heading off on our walk. Would come again ..... good value for money

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shabba W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks for the review, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here overnight as a quick place to get to the Lakes, the location was beautiful, amenities were great and just what we needed, never stayed at YHA before but will definitely do so again. Absolutely beautiful place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Lisa

Thanks for the review! It's great to hear that you're now a YHA convert, we've got some great locations all over the country to explore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Mixed party of four, all walkers on a last minute trip to the Lakes last week. Hottest couple of days so the hotel and waterside was very busy but never felt overcrowded. Must give praise to the staff, they were very busy but had time for any request or enquiry. Food in resaurant honest and good and late bar with real ales on. Parking a bit tight but we found a gap after a short wait. Bunk-bedded room clean but very basic. The showers were in constant use and could have been a little cleaner, the dry area for changing was awash. Thought tarriff was a little dear for what you get but still reasonable. We would use this YHA again.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room facing the lake, its beautiful. Check if room is beds or bunk-beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for the review, it was a scorcher last week wasnt it! I'm happy to hear that you found our staff helpful. I'll pass on your comments about the showers to the Housekeeping manager, hopefully we can improve the cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped here by chance mainly because the view from the terrace restaurant and bar... Food very well priced cheaper that most pub food prices, quality of food excellent, service excellent, weather and view amazing. We will definitely be returning while we are here!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jane1Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Ambleside, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
It's great to hear you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,686 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,208 reviews
4.1 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
YHA Windermere
YHA Windermere
#5 of 10 in Windermere
187 reviews
16.1 mi away
Arnside Independent Hostel & Study Centre
3.9 mi away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Ambleside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Ambleside

Property: YHA Ambleside
Address: Waterhead, Ambleside LA22 0EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Ambleside 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Ambleside is located right on the shore of Lake Windermere, with fantastic views across the Lake to the Langdale hills and mountains.An ideal location to explore the Lakes with Lakeside Restaurant and Bar on site and activities bookable from reception. Offering family rooms and traditional dorm accommodation. Please be aware that parking on site is very limited but staff can point you to nearby alternatives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your YHA Ambleside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Ambleside Hotel Ambleside
YHA Ambleside Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing