We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night break”
Review of Melrose Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melrose Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2 night break”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Just got back from having a 2night stay in this very clean and well run guest house.Lynn and Alan supplied anything you asked for and the food was excellant.The room we stayed in was on the ground floor no8 and was well decorated,very clean,with teas and coffee and you only had to ask if you needed more.Shower room and toilet immaculate.We were very lucky with the weather and would highly recommend this well cared for guest house.Situated close to shops and restaurants.Would highly recommend Zeffiellis restaurant which you can get cinama tickets included with a meal deal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    50
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
279
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Allan and Lynn are just like family you haven't seen in a while, happy to see you, warm welcoming and down to earth
Allen takes care of the dinning room and is always willing to accommodate ones needs Lynn takes care of cooking the breakfast and the bookings a great team effort from this wonderful couple
They are always upgrading the accommodations and everything sparkles in the bathrooms
Great location in the centre of town and easy access to all the attractions in the Lake District
parking can be a problem! but overall a great experience, highly recommend a stay here

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toursbytristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Alan & Lynn were the perfect hosts. The location is great, everywhere was very clean and there are maps and literature for you to plan your activities. They also recommended things for us when we asked.
Breakfast was great, very accommodating for a veggie too :)
Zereffilli's restaurant is a must as is Lucy4 for a drink after.
Would definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennylop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Lynn and Alan are extremely accommodating and helpful. They have literally thought of everything and we couldn't fault them on a thing! The place is immaculate. They recommended some restaurants- dodds and Matthew's bistro, which were both excellent. We would definitely stay there again.

Karen and Damien and Izzy the hound :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeytrussack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This beautiful guest house was perfect for our 2 night stay recently. Alan & Lynne, the owners were very helpful and the location was perfect, right in the centre of the town near the restaurants and pubs. Lucy's restaurant nearby was excellent. A short drive to the lakes and spa passes for the wet days. Lovely and relaxing break.

Room Tip: We had a triple family room on the first floor, beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Peak
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

What a fabulous three night stay we had. We went with our two teenage daughters aged 14 and 12 years. Our room was was lower ground floor and was not looking forward to staying underground! However the room was really cosy and very nicely decorated with comfortable matressess and the bedding crisp and clean. There was another single room off the main bedroom so perfect for the oldest teenager!!The bathroom was huge with great fluffy towels and plenty of toiletries.
The breakfasts were faultless with Alan catering to every need and never had to get up to fill our cups of coffee.
We found the hosts really pleasant and friendly without being overbearing. I think Icould not have picked a more perfect place to stay to make our getaway perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Cheshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We've just returned from a two nights stay at the Melrose. We both agreed that we could not fault this guest house, the room was spotless and comfortable with nice touches such as very good quality towels, bed linen and toiletries. The added bonus of access to the langdale spa is a perfect ending to a hard walk on the fells. Alan and Lin are stars, the food is wonderful and the packed lunch delicious. Thank you so much. We will be back very soon

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#2 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#8 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Guesthouse

Property: Melrose Guesthouse
Address: Church Street, Ambleside LA22 0BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melrose Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melrose is a traditional Lakeland, Victorian guesthouse centrally located in Ambleside. Sumptuous breakfasts are included in the price of your stay as are complimentary passes for the Langdale Spa leisure complex a few miles away. There are a variety of rooms from a single through to luxury King sized double en-suites and family rooms, to accommodate all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Melrose Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Guesthouse Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing