We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B & B”
Review of The Howes

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Howes
Ranked #84 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
tamworth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best B & B”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We love staying at The Howes, we come here regularly Mike and Gill always make you feel welcome, very comfortable bed so nice to have your breakfast served in your room very relaxing.

Short walk into Ambleside and easy access to many walks so once you arrive there is no need to take your car off the drive, but if you do you are close to all the lovely places of interest.

Thanks Mike and Gill for making our stay here so special heres to many more visits

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    7
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Spent a lovely two nights with our dogs at the Howes. Good location and a warm host in Mike. Look forward to returning soon

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2012

From the minute we arrived we were made to feel so welcome, we were shown to our room which was spacious and spotlessly clean, we were given our own front door key which was great.

Over the road from the Howes is the waterfalls and park which came in so handy as we had taken the dog.
After a great night sleep, in a very comfy bed, we were then brought our pre ordered breakfast which was delicious.
We couldn't fault this B & B and will return again.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresawAtherstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Weve just come back from an excellent 3 nights at The Howes. It was the 1st time weve gone away with the dog and she loved it. Really enjoyed having breakfast in our own room, that was a nice touch.
Bed was really comfortable and we both slept like logs. Went on a couple of walks and always somewhere to eat and drink with the pooch. Top class stay, will definitely be back.
Many thanks
Shaun, Jill (and Joss the pooch)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boroshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Like most of the other reviewers Mike and Gill were lovely. The room itself is what you would expect for the price,clean,tidy and a bit old fashioned. We stayed in room 3 which has an shower en suite which I think we could of done with a bath after all the walking. The breakfast was served actually in your room,the breakfast was lovely but we would never stay anywhere that provided this service again since sometimes on holiday it would be nice to have a lie-in, but this wasn't possible anyway since the mattress was the worst spring digging into your back mattress we've slept in ever. But don't let this put you off since Gill said that they would deal with the mattress asap. All in all if you want a little,peacefull,old-fashioned b&b then this is the one for you.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamandgwawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliekrantz, Owner at The Howes, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Thank you for your review and as we promised when you discussed this with us the problem with the mattress has been addressed - a new king sized bed has been installed with nice new crisp white bedding and has been complimented on by our regulars! We can now offer just king sized and twin beds!! Room Service for breakfast is very popular with our guests and we do offer to serve Breakfast up to 9am!! Not having to be up and dressed before breakfast gives our guests more waking up time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2011

I would highly recommend this B&B to anybody wanting to stay in Ambleside and would definitley stay here again. The room was lovely and spaceish which helped with taking our dog who was made more than welcome, we had a flat screen tv with en suite, what I found perfect was breakfast brought to your room and if there was anything you wanted Mike was more than prepared to get it for you. Great value for money, free parking and within walking distance of Ambleside, yet quiet and peaceful.

Thanks Mike and Gill x

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We looked on the internet for hotels, cottages and B+B's to stay in during the October half term. The Howes was one of the best value B+B's we could find that was in the centre of Ambleside with free parking. When we arrived Mike was there to welcome us, give us our keys, told us how to order breakfast and to ring the bell if we needed anything!

The stay was lovely, Mike brought breakfast to our room at 8.30am each morning which was a great perk to our stay at the Howes. The room was perfect for us, modern with an en suite, table and chairs for breakfast and flat screen tv. The Howes is a 2 minute walk from the centre of ambleside which was great for access yet quiet at night for a good nights sleep!

Overall, it was an ideal place to stay, we definately will be going back again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janey031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brantholme Bed & Breakfast
Brantholme Bed & Breakfast
#30 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#2 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norwood House
Norwood House
#45 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howes

Property: The Howes
Address: Stock Ghyll Brow, Ambleside LA22 0QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Howes Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing