We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy seat by the fire....”
Review of Glass House - CLOSED

Glass House
Price range: US$0 - US$204
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy seat by the fire....”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had a great meal at the glass house. The white bait was similar to what we have in Spain. The lamb main course was great... as it always seems to be in the Lakes. Prompt service, and a convivial atmosphere. We would recommend the Glass House.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    145
    65
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We only called in for a coffee and a warm up to escape the rain but were glad we did. It was cosy but nicely furnished. The coffee were great and less than £2 each. Staff were were very friendly too. Would love to return for a meal, the menu looked lovely. There was a couple having breakfast which looked good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheilz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A lovely place for lunch”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Having parked in the main Ambleside car park, it's easy to walk straight past this restaurant. We called in on our way back to the car and were glad that we did. The restaurant is really nice inside with a large fireplace and wood burning stove. Very welcome having come inside from the wind and rain! We both had a baguette with soup (mushroom) which was really nice plus a coffee each and the bill came to £19. One to add to our list when we return again to the area!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank craftytaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We usually visit the Glass House on our visits to Ambleside. As usual the staff were welcoming and the food was good. I had scampi, chips and peas, which did not look particularly inspiring, (the sort of meal you could get in any pub chain) but nevertheless tasted delicious. My husband had belly pork which he also said was delicious. Now for the downside - prices are OK, but it seems that vegetables and 'fries' are classed as side dishes with many meals. This can considerably increase the cost and who wants to eat a main course with no veg? It would be better to have the meals priced a little higher with everything included. Another big downer (maybe this is our personal choice) is that a restaurant of this quality should offer proper chips - you know the thick doorstop type. Never mind the so called shoestring 'fries' - you can get them at McDonalds (not that we would want to)! Still would go back, but would be delighted to see chips on the menu!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SheH3M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the hype”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

The Glass House was recommended to me by a friend who raved about it so thought I'd give it a try after reading reviews on Trip Advisor as well.

The table was booked for 9 o'clock and we arrived 15 minutes early hoping to just get a drink at the bar but upon arrival the waitress looked shocked we were early and rather than offer a drink took us straight to the table. We then didn't see her for a further 15 minutes until 9 and it would have been nice to order drinks whilst waiting. When the menus were finally brought to us drinks were ordered yet didn't arrive until after we had ordered and eaten our starters, by this point we had been in there nearly 45 minutes. After that I asked again about drinks and it appeared they had totally forgotten. Fair enough these things happen and the waitress was apologetic.

It wasn't busy but I assume it had been before our arrival given how many tables were being cleared. It looked like there were either 4 or 5 staff serving which clearly wasn't enough.

The main courses were nice but unfortunately nothing to rave about. Both had sauces on which were extremely rich, so much so I was scraping it off my food before eating, but that could just be my taste buds as my partner enjoyed her lamb.

Overall for two of us the bill was about £70 which isn't bad but given the initial reception and forgetting drinks whilst leaving us for 15 minutes when we first arrived it left me a bit disappointed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glass House also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing