We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, poor service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar & Grill at Waterhead

Bar & Grill at Waterhead
Ranked #38 of 117 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$37
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lyme, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
191 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We arrived for dinner and were seated, seemingly reluctantly by an annoyed-seeming maitre-d. He seemed very brusk. Later we felt unattended by the waitstaff.

Otherwise, the menu was interesting, prices reasonable, and dining room pleasant. The food we had was quite tasty.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    84
    17
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Crewe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good service and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We had two evening meals here during our stay, as well as lunch on arrival and breakfast every day. All staff were unfailingly courteous and friendly, and the food was good too!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank wrightscrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We ate here twice last week - sat in the garden area outside which has lovely views over Lake Windermere. Good choice of food - excellent value for money on the dishes we ordered. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The place is child friendly. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chicken286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere - food could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

This restaurant is within the Waterhead Hotel and, like the hotel, it aims for a slightly urban boutique feel. Decor is chic and fun with nice touches from the wall decorations and lighting. The menu nods towards fine dining but emerges from the kitchens with a slightly larger portion size and a few home cooking errors. Nevertheless, some dishes are certainly a very high standard. The night we went, our pigeon breast starter was a little too large and meat overcooked. The desert, however, was a chocolate creation that would have appeared happily on the menu at several high end eateries in London.
Service is friendly and wanting to please but some touches aren't quite right. When you arrive, I'd like the option to sit in the bar first or go straight to the table (you don't seem to get it). I'd like the staff to dispense with the plastic name tags in the evening and I think the restaurant manager should wear a suit. Picky? Minor details? Yes, but I've eaten in great restaurants in London for a similar price, and those picky details make it worth the money so let's try 'eh?
Bottom line though - we had a great night and the friendly atmosphere and full dining room with views of the lake more than made up for any criticism. Please try - especially if you stay in the hotel.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
133 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“wonderful lakeside setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stopped off for a light lunch and managed to sit outside overlooking the lake during March! Food was very good, and service was very attentive. The interior restaurant looks very nice but we did not sample this. The hotel associated with the bar looks to be a very good quality as well - so would definitely be looking for a return trip with a stay.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chateau57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar & Grill at Waterhead also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Bar & Grill at Waterhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing