We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“plump and jiucy”

The Drunken Duck Inn
Ranked #18 of 117 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$82
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
keswick
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“plump and jiucy”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I had been meaning to come to the Drunken duck for a while. So my friend and I decided to make a spur of the moment trip, and were very glad that we did . We sat in the garden enjoying the sunshine before ordering from the lunch menu. We shared a starter of moules frites which were deliciously plump and juicy( as good as any I had eaten either in France or the uk) served in a lovely garlicky sauce and crispy frites. We then shared the roast pork and stuffing sandwich. served on a nice crisp bun with a soft interior, the pork was tender and moist and utterly mouth watering. We also shared a steak sandwich which was also thoroughly enjoyable.as well as a bowl of very tasty thick cut chips. Altogether a very enjoyable dining experience. (just a hint to the management the gentlemen,s toilets could possible do with a bit of tlc )

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allanKeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    654
    316
    117
    77
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always look forward to a visit to the Drunken Duck”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We visit the Lake District several times a year and the Drunken Duck has been a favourite place to eat since our kids were small - they are now grown up enough to take themselves on their own visits to the area.
It oozes comfort and there is nothing better than sitting outside on a sunny day taking in the views to Ambleside and watching red squirrels skitter about their business.
While filling your visual senses have the steak sandwich because you wont find a better one anywhere, it just melts in your mouth and the chips... well no-one matches these either.
You should also try their Sunday Roast ....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CazziK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved this Inn and Restaurant”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was a gem of a find, everything about it ticked all of the boxes, it has spectacular views to. We did not book a table in the restaurant and it was pretty busy so maybe it would be a good idea to book a table. The staff reassured us we would only have a short time for a wait for a table, and it was a short time, so that was great, nice and comfortable surroundings, The food was wonderful and beautifully presented, I loved it here and would certainly recommend it. Great for couples or groups.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A lovely mid-afternoon drink”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stopped off here for a drink and a bowl of chips. The staff were friendly and helpful and the both food and drinks were very tasty. Unfortunately they were fully booked for dinner, or else we would have stayed on for a meal. We'll just have to come back...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank iainandanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
245 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great food, very poor wine”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Two dinners here during our stay in the hotel. Great food experience. Really nice cuisine. The shame is the wine list: we had 5 different wines (by the glass): none of them would rate good, two were unacceptable. Pity, would have rated 5 otherwise. Staff was nice (accepted to change one of the wine... for another one not better at all).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matoux00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Drunken Duck Inn also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Drunken Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing