We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheila's Cottage Restaurant

Sheila's Cottage Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 117 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$46
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Last orders 9.30pm. we were just in time and all staff clearly more interested in their own plans at this time of day. The food was excellent living up to expectations. We always visit when in Ambleside and it has not changed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    306
    90
    45
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, Warwickshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing meal here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had a lovely meal here very tasty and varied menu, staff very friendly and courteous and out waiter even had a sense of humour which was great.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneKLTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice rustic food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This restaurant isn't fine dining (would describe as rustic and wholesome), very good value, good portion sizes (lots of veg variety) and well cooked; I had the special of 'shin of beef' and my husband had sausages, both very tasty. We found the staff friendly and efficient. We will return and would recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hedgehog2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
133 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great sticky toffee pudding, weird service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Came here after 20:30/8:30 pm for dessert, and were almost turned away because we weren't having dinner as well. Wait staff actually checked with other staff to see if it was OK. Another staff member said that it was, but the only table we could sit at would have to be literally within arm's reach of the entrance. So we did.
Dear Sheila, don't allow your staff to even consider turning away paying customers after the dinner rush just because they only want dessert. They can be a bonus revenue, considering that not all your dinner patrons will also have dessert! BTW, the sticky toffee pudding was awesome.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlfalfaAnchorageAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We dropped in early evening and were shown to a table upstairs. The restaurant is a lot larger than it looks from the outside. Service was efficient, and the food good. I had the sea bass which was cooked perfectly. I think the atmosphere downstairs appeared more lively somehow, however I would still recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JayCee193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sheila's Cottage Restaurant also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Sheila's Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing