We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheila's Cottage Restaurant

Sheila's Cottage Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 117 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$46
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We were staying at the restaurant's sister establishment, the Gables; so we tried this place for an evening meal.
I can't fault it. Great food, good wine, great service. A very comfortable place to eat of an evening.
Thoroughly enjoyed the meal here.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    306
    90
    45
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Borsbeek
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Price / quality is correct”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

A very enthousiastic young team served a very good meal.
A hearty welcome and service to perfection. Nothing really special but just good quality food at the right price.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jef V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just popped in for a cup of tea and a scone.

Judging by the number of places looking for staff this is clearly an issue in Ambleside but this was the first place where we were confronted with this reality. A waiter who even if his English was better should never be seen apart from perhaps at Fawlty Towers.

The tea got cold before the tea stems (total absence of leaves) used coloured the hot water, and the stale scone became a pile of crumbs in the process of being cut which saved me having to try and use rock butter.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank St_Geordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food... poor service..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

The food was lovely, but the service was terrible.. The waiteress looked like she didn't want to be there.. which made me feel uncomfortable.. we were never offered condiments with our meal.. and no follow up was given..

Helpful?
Thank charlieh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real find of a restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Our family stumbled across this little place down the Ambleside back streets one evening. Plenty of seating and a good Childrens Menu. I had the Haddock. I don't think that I have ever had such a lovely meal. The staff were attentive and helpful, even supplying an extra spoon for desert 'just in case'. My daughter had a good sized children's Sausage and mash and hoovered it up. Loved it. It would be well worth seeking out.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaN69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sheila's Cottage Restaurant also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Sheila's Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing