We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From Alpha Papa to Alpha Zata!”
Review of Zeffirellis

Zeffirellis
Ranked #13 of 117 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$55
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“From Alpha Papa to Alpha Zata!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The best end possible to a lovely few days in the Lakes!

As great cinema and Alan Partridge fans, we booked the film and meal deal and both were of the highest quality.

The title refers firstly to the sub-title of Steve Coogan's latest Partridge outing and secondly, to the name of the delicious red wine which accompanied our chilli and mushroom penna.

The service was excellent (thank you Janet!), the couple on the next door table were delightful and, like the Norfolk DJ himself, also from Norwich and the surroundings were beautifully designed and comfortable.

The food couldn't be faulted and worth the dent on the credit card even without the price of the film ticket, which was half as much as our Truro local.

The concept and delivery of this cinema / restaurant are brilliant and should be repeated in every town in Britain.

As Alan would have said, " Zefirellis....back of the net!"

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,285
    555
    146
    64
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian vegetarian restaurant”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We ate here 3 times in the last 5 days in this very popular restaurant, which I've visited many times over the years. There is a wide variety of menu choices, as well as different pizzas. The nut roast on baked onion was gorgeous. I particularly adored the cannelloni, which had a light ricotta and spinach filling, without the overpowering taste of nutmeg which seems to pervade British spinach dishes. They came in an authentic tomato sauce, again without the addition of cream and flour which ruin tomato sauces in so many restaurants. Their leek and potato soup was tasty. We got some takeaway pizzas to have cold for lunch on the train journey home next day - they were lovely!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aramsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The service was attentive, the location was central, and the Halloumi Salad was incredible! If we are ever in Ambleside again, this will be the first reservation I make!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank aslsmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level Contributor
197 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Wow - amazing food and good value”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Great meal, my husband did not realise for some time this is a vegetarian restaurant as there was so much we could choose. had 2 great pizzas, and some superb wine, it has changed a lot over the years and is still great. Can't wait for next time

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucyjazzylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
145 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Ate here twice in the same week -unusual for us- but we were so impressed by the quality of food, the atmosphere and, above all else, the extremely friendly staff who were efficient, courteous and genuinely seemed to enjoy working at the restaurant. I also liked the fact that the menu was attractive to both vegetarians and carnivores even though no meat is involved! Very, very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pengowls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zeffirellis also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Zeffirellis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing