We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still one of Ambleside's best”
Review of Zeffirellis

Zeffirellis
Ranked #13 of 121 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$55
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Leicester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Still one of Ambleside's best”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Every time we go on our holidays to Ambleside this is the first place we book for dinner. This time we took some friends (4 adults, 3 kids in total) and they were just as impressed as we always are. The menu has changed a little, the décor still modern and smart, the service still very good and the food, whilst not as incredible as in previous years, is still way ahead of the pack. The kids pasta options are fantastic and my Lasagne was superb. Still more than affordable as well. Will be back next year.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDoctorG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,316
    576
    153
    67
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

fab food. great for families. would definitely go again. Our kids loved the easy child portions. All vegetarian but awesome taste especially the broccoli and blue cheese lasagne.

Helpful?
Thank sindychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The ambience was lovely a welcome change from most vegetarian restaurants.The service was first class and the food was delicious.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Happy days!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Modern interior, clean modern toilets with individual cubicles with wash basin (lovely but possibly causing more queuing than necessary!) Great service from waiting staff, attentive and all orders arrived as expected (amazing how many times busy restaurants fail the customer!)
We paid around 60-70 for a family of 3 with wine, all thoroughly enjoyed their meals and the chef created a special dish for then young girl who wanted the gnocchi sauce on penne pasta. Recommend the white and sweet potato mixed wedges with garlic mayo dip on the starter menu-amazing! Would love to return to try some more of the lovely sounding pasta dishes and the vegetable Wellington dish :D

Helpful?
Thank SallyB1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“clean and contemporary with good staff”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

It's usually morning or afternoon coffee with something light to eat when I visit Zeffirellis. The reason is I'm either coming off the fells or calling in after some shopping in town.

The light lunches, scones and biscuits are always fresh and exceptionally presented by friendly and good staff. You can choose from outside or inside seating areas.

The big attraction for me (in addition to the above) is the coffee. Top notch, unlike some of the swill served elsewhere in the Lakes.

This establishment ranks joint first with me for coffee stops in the Lakes. Believe me, I have tried numerous and won't be back to most. So, for me, a trip to Ambleside is not complete without a visit to Zeffirellis!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ldw190736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zeffirellis also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Zeffirellis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing