We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR 4th STAY, & WE WILL BE BACK.”
Review of The Rysdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Rysdale
Ranked #51 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Having read the few negative reviews on the Rysdale my wife & I thought we should write our own review, We have stayed at the Rysdale for 4 times now, the most recent being the last week in October for 3 nights, As in the past our stay was very confortable, We stayed in room 2, we have previosly stayed in room 6, Both overlook the park & have lovely viewsover the hills we saw a deer on one occasion,, the rooms are very cleen with very large comfy beds & quilts, everything you need for a shower towels and hair shampoo & dryer etc, flat screen tv, tea & coffee maker biscuits & chocolates, The breakfast has a choice of cereal, fruit,followed by eggs (poached, scrambled, boiled etc) smoked haddock, american pancakes, vegetarian or full english (recomended) followed by toast, it sets you up for the day, Ok there is no parking but i dont think you can blame Allan & Dianne for that, We have always found free parking on nearby streets without any problem or the public car park around the corner doesnt charge the earth, ( A message to Allan & Dianne, THANK YOU FOR ANOTHER LOVELY WELCOME) Gary & Janet. Rochdale

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chizzyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2011

Well what another wonderful weekend we have had at the Rysdale, once again our room was perfect and cleaned to a high standard (been our third time we knew it would be nothing but clean). We were remembered by Allan who once again showed us to our room and ran through the times of breakfast etc, Allan is also very knowledgeable about all the walks and told us about 2 great ones. Allan and Dianne were very understanding when we didnt arrive till quite late on the Friday evening as we got caught up in traffic from Gloucester.
What can i say apart from excellent in every way, we wont stay anywhere else now.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 02belle02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I'm in shock people have actually enjoyed their stay here. I found it to be a total disappointment. I was meeting up with some friends to go for a walk and only wanted to stay the friday night. Booked very late and was delighted to get somewhere but boy was i in for a shock. At £45 per night (above the quoted price on the website) i thought it would be worth it. I was shocked to be given a single (Childs) bed with a silly end piece on it in a tiny room. It was clean but the small single quilt left me exposed to the elements in the night. A bivvy off may have been warmer! The breakfast left was the best part and thats only because you can't really go wrong with a full english. I see someone else has noted the really short times for breakfast. 0830-0900hrs doesn't leave much room for change. Check out was a highlight. Also...NO CAR PARK. Be prepared to pay and display up the road if you want to walk around Ambleside....Trust me...stay somewhere else and enjoy your break!

Room Tip: Ask for the telephone number for a different B&B!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed here for a weekend break recently and in the end thought the accommodation deserved its "mid table" status in the Trip Advisor listings for Ambleside. On the plus side were comfortable beds and crisp, clean linen, a nice full English breakfast and a good location for exploring the town's many pubs, restaurants and shops. However, there was barely any water pressure in our second floor bedroom and and zero hot water in the sinks and bath. The shower water was bearably tepid. Alan, the owner, was apologetic but seemed not over concerned to get this seen to, so please beware if you are allocated room 9. Also there is no parking to speak of and so are reliant on a blue disc (which entitles you to an hour on the street) and an accurate watch as you try to de-stress after a hard week at work.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chiantibeatle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My 2 colleagues and I stayed at the Rysdale at the end of September for one night bed and breakfast accommodation. I opted for the guest house because of the central location in walking distance to the centre and overlooking the crazy golf course. We were pleasantly surprised at the excellent level of service and the cleanliness of the rooms provided. The proprietor, Allan, welcomed us with all the necessary information we needed about parking, breakfast times, and personally showed us to our rooms. I had a lovely, spacious double room, which was spotlessly clean and better most hotel rooms I've stayed in. My colleagues each had a single room, which were compact, but ample space for one person and with all the essentials that you require plus en-suite bathrooms. The little details were very thoughful, like the complimentary chocolates with the tea-making facilities. Allan was also very gracious when we knocked him up out of bed at 1.00am because another guest had locked the front door. The breakfast was really yummy too, make better by the wonderful view outside the window. We all opted for the full English, and there was also cereals and fruit, etc. I noticed that another guest had ordered the continental and looked as if they had about 3 pastries to themselves! I would definitely recommend this guest house to anyone, and even those travelling with kids because it is such great value for money. PS - We play crazy golf each time we visit the town, which is good fun, plus they also hire out tennis rackets and bowling I think.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This brilliantly located Guesthouse has got everything you could ask for! We booked Room 6, which had fantastic views of Loughrigg and part of the Fairfield round.
It's great for access to Ambleside - just a two minute walk away! The room was really clean and beautifully decorated. Alan, the owner, was really friendly and provided a great cooked breakfast. The only downside is the parking. But on two occasions we found a space up the road, without the need to pay. This certainly hasn't put us off staying again in the future!

Room Tip: Room 6 had a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This was our second time at Rysdale, it's ideally located to explore the town, and as before we got a warm welcome. All our three rooms were very clean and very comfortable, ours overlooked the mini golf course and came with the biggest most luxurious bed and a good ensuite & shower...
Breakfast was delicious every time, service was very efficient and polite, Allen the host also has a wealth of fell walking experience to draw upon if required.
Were it not for the restricted on street parking, I believe reviews would be even more favorable

Room Tip: Room 2 was great with the massive and very comfortable bed and a good view out the front the back r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndysWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
0.4 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#3 of 102 in Ambleside
1,182 reviews
0 mi away
3 Cambridge Villas
3 Cambridge Villas
#58 of 102 in Ambleside
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Melrose Guesthouse
Melrose Guesthouse
#13 of 102 in Ambleside
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rysdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rysdale

Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £70 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rysdale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Rysdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rysdale Hotel Ambleside
The Rysdale Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing