We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here if you are a walker!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rysdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rysdale
Ranked #53 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
brentwood
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't stay here if you are a walker!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed at this bed and breakfast establishment for 3 nights while on a walking break in the Lakes. The Rysdale was booked for our small group by our mountain challenge supplier, presumably because nothing else was available. What a bizarre place!
Our bedroom was literally on the fire escape route. Anyone escaping would have to come through the door, through the room, and out through another door onto the fire escape stairs attached to the outside of the building. But as the bedroom door is always locked its hard to see how anyone could escape. Very strange. And as for the view - all we could see was industrial fire escape stairs - a major disappointment considering we were in the Lake District!!!
As for breakfast, despite our requests, the owner would not attempt to provide anything cooked before 8.30am - so, like most other people there for walks or treks, we missed out.
We had no bath. Thankfully there was a shower but it was in a poky little space.
Please please please don't be taken in by the slick website - you may end up as disappointed as our group.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else - the American style B&B in Ambleside looked worth a visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agacumbria, Owner at The Rysdale, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Thank you for your review which I was very disappointed to read and subsequently feel it most
necessary to respnd. To begin with the safety of our guests is of the utmost importance which
is why we installed a new fire system. Should the fire alarm be activated the bedroom doors, that
do indeed lead to the fire escape, open automatically.
With regards to the early breakfast the group of 3 were informed and it was made clear by the
mountain leader, (which I have since double checked) that we would not be providing a cooked
breakfast at an unreasonably early hour and it has to be mentioned that the guests concerned
wanted cooked breakfasts at 6 am requiring us to be up at 5-15am!. We are pleased to say that
I did provide and serve a substantial choice of cereals, fresh fruit, prunes, grapefruit, yogurts,
fruit juice, tea, coffee and toast at 6-30 am.
Unfortunately, large en-suites cannot be provided in our traditional Edwardian Lakeland house.
However, the shower is a standard size.
This weekend, when we were again fully booked, we had a group of walkers who booked the
entire guesthouse who were more than happy with breakfast at 8-30 am as is the case with all
our regular walking groups.
Finally, we hope that anyone reading this review will also take the time to read all the excellent
comments that we have received resulting in a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    10
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
58
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

We had no hesitation in booking for our second visit in 2 years, on our holidays back from Australia, and we weren't disappointed. Great central location, we were in room 5 this time; very clean and comfortable. I'm sure we will return again at some point in the future and have no hesitation in recommending this place to others.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xxxxRandCxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We promised Allan (the propieter) that we would write a review here and so here we are! We stayed here at the end of June 2012 to celebrate my birthday. I travelled up from Kent with my friend and my Sister in-law joined us the following morning. Our arrival was late on Thursday at 11.30 pm. Allan had arranged for our easy access. I was more than pleased by the standard of the accommodation and the cleanliness of our twin (family room) as was my Sister in-law who joined us the following morning in her single rooms (4&5). We had views over the hills at the rear of the property. Breakfast was awesome, there was plenty of variety between cereals, fruit etc, but the cooked breakfast were the best I've had (and believe me when I say I have stayed in enough 5* hotels and B&B's to know a great breakfast when I see one). Both of my travelling companions went for the full English and I had the poached eggs - superb choice and my friend always gave me her black pudding. Yum! congratulations to Diane. As the part of the duo we saw most, Allan was most amenable and chatty if you wanted him to be. The lounge was a warm inviting room with a log burner, but to be fair we were either out or in our rooms. Although, parking can be an issue in this area it's free parking between 6 pm and 10 am in Knott street, which the back of the property overlooks. You can obtain 1 hour reusable parking discs from shops etc and Allan loaned us one. Please make sure you don't overstay though as I was amazingly let off a parking ticket for being 5 minutes late. I drove out of the street and parked a few yards along the road by the library for another hour and all was well. If you are out and about like us you won't really have any issues. Thank you guys for a wonderful stay and we have already recommended you to some others we know are coming down from Scotland.

Room Tip: Having seen only rooms 4 & 5, I can safely say they are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

have recently returned from a walking holiday in the Lakes. I stayed at Rysdale Guest House in Ambleside.
The location was perfect, right in the middle of Ambleside, close to all the restaurants and facilities and only a short walk to get on the mountains.
I was given a parking space on arrival and was able to abandon for the stay as the mountains were on the doorstep.
Dianne and Allan were perfect hosts. There was a large buffet with cereals, fresh fruit , yogurt etc , followed by a superb cooked breakfast.
This was my first visit to Rysdale Guest House and I will most definitely return!!!
My single room ( 8) was on the top floor it is a cosy quiet en suite room, ideal!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kofi1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

The only reason I have graded this review as high as poor is that I didn't complain to the proprietors so can't justify a lower score.

BUT; If you want a comfortable and pleasant stay in Ambleside don't stay here.

I had a single room which wasn't big enough to swing a kitten in. The mattress was of such poor quality I don't think I'd have used it in my dog's bed. The shower room was so small I was surprised they made shower trays that small. Some fittings were hanging off the walls or were broken. The decor was poor and rather tatty.

Breakfast was interesting; You have to make your cooked choice the night before but how you are supposed to know what you might want some 12 hours beforehand is anyone's guess but worse than that there was a window of just 0830 to 0900 for you to eat breakfast. When I expressed my surprise at these two restrictions I was told that it was the best way of doing things, WHO FOR?

I didn't feel welcome when I arrived, I felt disappointed while I was there and I couldn't wait to leave. I am amazed anyone stays there, it was like a boarding house from a bygone era but I suppose the fact that they had so many vacancies (probably 75% empty) on the friday of the Jubilee bank holiday when everywhere else was chock full tells it's own tale.

RUBBISH.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different B n B
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agacumbria, Owner at The Rysdale, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
We were very disappointed to read your recent review and we are sorry when you say that you did not feel welcome on your arrival as we always strive to make everyone feel most welcome here at Rysdale.
The room you chose is clearly advertised as the smallest room in the house but proves very popular with guests. The room was newly decorated in March and the high quality mattress is new.
With regards to breakfast, as with most guesthouses in Ambleside, guests are invited to
be in the dining room anytime from 8-30am to 9am when they are then most welcome to enjoy
our elegant dining room for as long as they wish. (no one is expected to be out of the dining
room by 9am!). Again, as with many other guesthouses, breakfast menus are asked for the
night before to help provide an efficient service at breakfast, to prevent people having a long
wait and is eco-friendly by preventing wastage of food.
With regards to occupancy on the Friday evening we were 66% full due to the fact that most
people were checking in on the Saturday and we were subsequently full for the next 4 days.
Similar to ourselves, not all guesthouses were full on the Friday. We would have preferred it
if, on your arrival, you had mentioned that the room was not suitable for your needs when we
would then have been more than happy to have provided a different room for your one night stay. To conclude our responce we would just like to mention that Trip Adviser has just awarded us with a Certificate of Excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solih
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in room 3 which is a single room. The place is spotless and comfortable and breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice. The B&B is central with easy access to the centre of Ambleside however there is only parking on the road which wasn't a problem. I would certainly recommend this place to family and friends!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdw2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goring-on-Thames, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We chose Rysdale from a list given to us by friends who were planning a Wedding in nearby Grasmere. Because of the Bank Holiday we booked early and Allan advised that room 6 would suit our needs. We were not disappointed, particularly with the view of the Church across the pleasure park and the very close proximity to the shops and restaurants in Ambleside.
The room was clean, nicely furnished with a large built in wardrobe complete with shoe caddie and more than enough hangers for a week's worth of closing. (first time we have found that in ANY B&B in the UK or anywhere else.
The Parking issues mentioned in other reviews were not a problem for us as the Blue Disc allows on street parking from 17:00 to 11:00. A Car Park Pass is also available giving free parking in several locations in Ambleside and other towns. We used this in Grasmere and Kendall.
Water pressure wasn't an issue, in fact the shower was better than our pumped system at home.
As for the Brekkie...... Great variety, beautifully cooked. I do agree that the 'window' is a bit tight, but this didn't stop us doing the walks and excursions we wanted. I'd stay in The Rysdale again any time.

Room Tip: Go for one of the front rooms with views towards the Church and evening sun, though the rear rooms m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#15 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amboseli Lodge
Amboseli Lodge
#16 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rysdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rysdale

Property: The Rysdale
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rysdale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rysdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rysdale Hotel Ambleside
The Rysdale Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing