We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home 5* is an exact rating for my stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rysdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rysdale
Ranked #51 of 105 Ambleside B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home 5* is an exact rating for my stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

From the moment I arrived at Rysdale I was met at the door by Diane with a friendly welcoming smile, coffee and biscuits along with a lovely lit log fire. My room was Absolutly beautiful. The view was stunning. French white furniture, beautiful crisp white beding, and lovely little extras. Cleanliness was obviously of paramount importance to the owners. My room was cleaned every day,fresh towels and best of all a fresh tin of biscuits each day. Ample tea making facilities too. This was the firsi tme I had stayed away on my own, due to my husband not being able to make the trip. I never felt alone. The home from home comforts made my stay so enjoyable. The breakfast each day was delicious. A fantastic choice. Everything freshly prepared. Allan and Diane could not have been more accomodating. I would just like to say to anyone that may have read the 3 terrible coments, PLEASE take no notice. Anyone wanting a proprietor to get up and cook a full breakfast at 6.30am must be extremely selfish. Breakfast times are clearly marked when booking, my advice is to stop in a hostel. To the lady who's parents run a hotel, sorry but you seriously need to get a life and I can honestly say that this guest house is worthy of the awards. Sounds like sour grapes to me. Complaints about parking? Your on a walking holiday! Walk the 2 minute walk it will not hurt you. Parking was Free for me too.

Rysdale is suitable for singles and couples of all ages. Counting down the days to my next visit. Hopefully with my husband.

Thank you so much x

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikkiefrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    10
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
58
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

Lovely room, with great views. Clean and comfy. Alan and Diana were very welcoming and made us feel at home rather than at a B&B. Great location for walking. Alan has extensive knowlege and experience walking in the fells, and kindly offered great ideas for walks. Would definately stay again, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at The Rysdale for our anniversary mid September, we had a lovely time. The property is in a great location , close to all restaurants, pubs and many lake walks.
Alan and his wife were great and really helpful. We came in one day socking wet from a long walk and they took our wet clothes and boots and dried them for us.
We stayed in room 6, which had lovely views, all clean and in good condition. The only thing is my husband is 6ft 3 and struggled with such a small en-suite.
Breakfast had a lovely choice and the cooked breakfast was lovely. The time slot of 8.30 to 9am was a little limited but worked for us fine.
Thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisem86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

I visited Ambleside in September 2012 during a 14 day motor trip of Wales and the Lake District. We were directed to Rysdale by the information center in Windermere. It was a delightful experience with innkeepers Dianne and Allan. The room was functional and the price was great. I had the same room the man complained about in another review with the fire escape. He has obviously not traveled much in the US as there are not many panoramic views, especially at the price we paid. We tried to spend little time in our room as we were there to see the Lake District, so it served us perfectly as the bed was comfortable and nice to have our own bath . The breakfasts were spectacular and my travelling companion who is a vegaterian said it was the best vegetarian sausage she has ever had. We liked the B&B so much we asked to spend an extra night, but alas they were booked. Rysdale certainly has my recommendation and thanks to Allan and Dianne (and Ruby!).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lcg7wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brentwood
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed at this bed and breakfast establishment for 3 nights while on a walking break in the Lakes. The Rysdale was booked for our small group by our mountain challenge supplier, presumably because nothing else was available. What a bizarre place!
Our bedroom was literally on the fire escape route. Anyone escaping would have to come through the door, through the room, and out through another door onto the fire escape stairs attached to the outside of the building. But as the bedroom door is always locked its hard to see how anyone could escape. Very strange. And as for the view - all we could see was industrial fire escape stairs - a major disappointment considering we were in the Lake District!!!
As for breakfast, despite our requests, the owner would not attempt to provide anything cooked before 8.30am - so, like most other people there for walks or treks, we missed out.
We had no bath. Thankfully there was a shower but it was in a poky little space.
Please please please don't be taken in by the slick website - you may end up as disappointed as our group.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else - the American style B&B in Ambleside looked worth a visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agacumbria, Owner at The Rysdale, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Thank you for your review which I was very disappointed to read and subsequently feel it most
necessary to respnd. To begin with the safety of our guests is of the utmost importance which
is why we installed a new fire system. Should the fire alarm be activated the bedroom doors, that
do indeed lead to the fire escape, open automatically.
With regards to the early breakfast the group of 3 were informed and it was made clear by the
mountain leader, (which I have since double checked) that we would not be providing a cooked
breakfast at an unreasonably early hour and it has to be mentioned that the guests concerned
wanted cooked breakfasts at 6 am requiring us to be up at 5-15am!. We are pleased to say that
I did provide and serve a substantial choice of cereals, fresh fruit, prunes, grapefruit, yogurts,
fruit juice, tea, coffee and toast at 6-30 am.
Unfortunately, large en-suites cannot be provided in our traditional Edwardian Lakeland house.
However, the shower is a standard size.
This weekend, when we were again fully booked, we had a group of walkers who booked the
entire guesthouse who were more than happy with breakfast at 8-30 am as is the case with all
our regular walking groups.
Finally, we hope that anyone reading this review will also take the time to read all the excellent
comments that we have received resulting in a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

We had no hesitation in booking for our second visit in 2 years, on our holidays back from Australia, and we weren't disappointed. Great central location, we were in room 5 this time; very clean and comfortable. I'm sure we will return again at some point in the future and have no hesitation in recommending this place to others.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xxxxRandCxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We promised Allan (the propieter) that we would write a review here and so here we are! We stayed here at the end of June 2012 to celebrate my birthday. I travelled up from Kent with my friend and my Sister in-law joined us the following morning. Our arrival was late on Thursday at 11.30 pm. Allan had arranged for our easy access. I was more than pleased by the standard of the accommodation and the cleanliness of our twin (family room) as was my Sister in-law who joined us the following morning in her single rooms (4&5). We had views over the hills at the rear of the property. Breakfast was awesome, there was plenty of variety between cereals, fruit etc, but the cooked breakfast were the best I've had (and believe me when I say I have stayed in enough 5* hotels and B&B's to know a great breakfast when I see one). Both of my travelling companions went for the full English and I had the poached eggs - superb choice and my friend always gave me her black pudding. Yum! congratulations to Diane. As the part of the duo we saw most, Allan was most amenable and chatty if you wanted him to be. The lounge was a warm inviting room with a log burner, but to be fair we were either out or in our rooms. Although, parking can be an issue in this area it's free parking between 6 pm and 10 am in Knott street, which the back of the property overlooks. You can obtain 1 hour reusable parking discs from shops etc and Allan loaned us one. Please make sure you don't overstay though as I was amazingly let off a parking ticket for being 5 minutes late. I drove out of the street and parked a few yards along the road by the library for another hour and all was well. If you are out and about like us you won't really have any issues. Thank you guys for a wonderful stay and we have already recommended you to some others we know are coming down from Scotland.

Room Tip: Having seen only rooms 4 & 5, I can safely say they are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
0.1 mi away
Brathay Lodge
Brathay Lodge
#36 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Norwood House
Norwood House
#47 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#15 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brantfell House
Brantfell House
#52 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rysdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rysdale

Property: The Rysdale
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rysdale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Rysdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rysdale Hotel Ambleside
The Rysdale Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing