We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean cosy place to stay. great hospitality”
Review of The Rysdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rysdale
Ranked #49 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“clean cosy place to stay. great hospitality”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

stayed in room 9 at the top of the building. very cosy and good view .
bathroom a bit small but nicely done.
windows stuck and didn't close properly however 2 heaters so wasn't cold.
room cleaned daily and very pleasant owners
would stay again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    10
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
59
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

With a group of friends, we stayed at this Bed and Breakfast in Ambleside for New Years eve celebrations. Allan and his wife were such hard working hosts who made sure we felt instantly at home and their attention to detail from the decor in the rooms, to the excellent breakfasts that fueled us for the day was second to none. The B&B is very central to Ambleside and all amenities, providing a very relaxing and slower pace of life for visitors. I would highly recommend this B&B to all. A very enjoyable stay. Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pazza83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

My boyfriend and I came to Rysdale for our anniversary weekend and it was so much better than we had expected. Everything you need is a short walk away and the town is beautiful (not to mention the views!). Rysdale itself is fantastic. The room we slept in was lovely and clean, and the bed was so comfortable. The breakfast was also a great start to each day; and anyone who complains that the 8:30 - 9 slot is too short is being ridiculous, that's the time to turn up, not the amount of time you're expected to eat in! Allan and Dianne were constantly smiling and happy to advise us on where to walk and what to do and see. We have decided we'd rather return to Rysdale than go abroad in Summer. Thanks for a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Room 6 has large windows and a beautiful view of the church and mountains opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie-Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripponden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the weekend. We received a very warm welcome from Allan. The b&b is spotless and very cosy with a lovely sitting room. The view from our window was of Wansfell, very pretty. The breakfasts are delicious. We also met Dianne who was very welcoming and helpful and we met Ruby, the cutest dog (cockapoo) in the world. The parking permit is for a car park a short stroll away and the on street parking is very close. Allan helped us out with details about local walks etc. this is a lovely b&b with lovely hosts and situated in a perfect spot.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

My wife & I stayed at The Rysdale in Ambleside last Thursday night and will certainly book in there again. Allan made us feel very welcome. The room was very clean & comfortable & the breakfast was lovely. The Rysdale is well located with a wide choice of restaurants & pubs within 2 minutes walk and I would recommend it to anyone. Great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freshwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My partner and I stayed here on route to The Highlands..and extended Our stay by a night. A wonderful, warm welcome. This is My fifth stay in Ambleside and by far My favourite to date. A Home from Home...clean, friendly, great breakfast, helpful...can not find fault..will be back next year...Thankyou for a fantastic start to Our Holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footofdowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

The single room was poor, as was the shower room (which was seperate i.e. not en-suite).
The bed itself was unconfortable, and not pleasant.
However, the only thing that allowed this B&B to get an Average rating, was the fact that the Host was great as were the Breakfasts.
Nothing else I can say.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tg12345g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agacumbria, Owner at The Rysdale, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
We are very disappointed to read your comments. When all our guests are leaving they are always asked if they have enjoyed their stay and if everything has been to their satisfaction.You obviously chose not to say anything whilst you were with us. You mention that your bed was uncomfortable but you do not say for what reason. Too soft?. With regards to cleanliness we find your comment totally unacceptable as we clean the rooms ourselves and know that they are always cleaned to a high standard as noted by other Trip Advisor members and Visit Britain inspectors. Also, that particular single room is furnished with high quality solid English light Oak furniture with a new carpet. Yes, the private bathroom is seperate but is always clearly advertised as being so. Maybe an en-suite double room would have been more to your liking?. We are pleased that you enjoyed our extensive breakfast menu. Dianne and Allan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.2 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#48 of 103 in Ambleside
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#10 of 103 in Ambleside
608 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#3 of 103 in Ambleside
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#16 of 108 in Windermere
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rothay Garth
Rothay Garth
#41 of 103 in Ambleside
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rysdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rysdale

Property: The Rysdale
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rysdale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Rysdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rysdale Hotel Ambleside
The Rysdale Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing