We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every thing you could wish for!”
Review of Amboseli Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amboseli Lodge
Ranked #1 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Great people running this really clean and friendly guest house. You feel like a family member! I can see why people keep coming back again and Ambleside is a great location and the walking couldn' t be better.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2011

My husband and I have stayed in a number of places in the lakes and enjoyed staying in different places with different people;that is until we discovered the little gem which is Amboseli Lodge.
We have now been visiting Reg and Gwen regularly for around eight years. Nothing is too much trouble for them; bag carrying,boot drying, coat drying, weather forecast, special request for things like fresh milk in room, decaf teas and coffees,knowledgeable advice on walks, terrain and so on and so on. this is all freely given with a smile or laugh!
The accommodation is excellent and very convenient for Ambleside facilities.
Wi fi is available for those who want it.
We have stayed in all the rooms and they all have superb views of either Loughrigg, Wansfell or Fairfield.
There really should be at least 6 grades given for Amboseli as it deserves at least one more star than anywhere else.
I am rather reluctant to write this recommendation, as gems like this one are hard to find and should really be jealously guarded.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irenedillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

After enjoying our stay at Amboseli Lodge last year, I had no hesitation in booking again for this year's spring visit to the Lake District. Gwen and Reg are the perfect hosts and again made us most welcome from the moment we arrived, and we really enjoyed their cheerful patter throughout our stay.

As expected, we found the high standards of cleanliness and facilities within the accommodation have been maintained, now with the addition of free wi-fi, which my husband appreciated as he was able to log onto the internet on his Ipod in the evenings.

Again, I really appreciated the great choice of food offered for breakfast - fruit salad, yogurts, scrambled eggs cooked to perfection (with the addition of mushrooms which was a treat in itself as I never have them at home!), delicious toast made from seeded bread with jam, and pancakes with maple syrup, which set us up for a day's walking on the fells. I also appreciated the supply of fruit tea, drinking chocolate and shortbread in the bedroom - a welcome change from the boring bog standard offerings provided by most guest houses.

As we visited the same week as last year, I again celebrated my birthday during our stay and Gwen and Reg remembered about it and gave me a birthday card and chocs, which was a really lovely touch and made our stay even more special.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metalminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed for two nights, had a great welcome, excellent on suite room & top quality breakfast. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmorrison9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Just spent a few days here and could have happily stayed for much longer. Lovely welcome so we felt at home straight away. Clean and comfortable en-suite room, and breakfast sets you up for the day. Ideal location and a bonus to have off-street parking. We'll definitely be back !

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cumbriap21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We are repeat visitors and standards remain consistently high. Very clean and comfortable accommodation which is perfectly located for accessing the village of Ambleside and surrounding area. Hosts are very friendly , knowledgeable, and helpful .

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3CP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

When we booked our weekend in the Lakes we didn't even consider looking at any other accommodation as we stayed here for a week last year and found it the best B & B we have stayed in. Our opinion has not changed. The location is ideal in the centre of Ambleside with a lovely view over the park and fells. Our room was immaculate and extremely comfortable with a full size en suite bathroom. Gwen and Reg are lovely hosts and make you feel so welcome. Thank you both for a lovely weekend.
Ruth & Rob

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,721 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#2 of 103 in Ambleside
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#3 of 103 in Ambleside
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amboseli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Lodge

Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £80 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amboseli Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside, the Amboseli Lodge Bed and Breakfast Guest House is ideal for either that short getaway, or the longer holiday when you want the extra time to take in more of what the beautiful lake District has to offer.It is a great place to site yourself for visiting any area of the Lakes, whether you're walking, cycling, using public transport or your own car. Amboseli Lodge is an affordable bed and breakfast location at all times of the yearOffering Parking close to the centre of Ambleside make the Amboseli Lodge a favourite with walkers and shoppers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amboseli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing