We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about perfect”
Review of Amboseli Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amboseli Lodge
Ranked #1 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was exactly what you hope for in a B&B.

It was in the perfect location (just a short walk to the restaurants!) with its own parking, the room was very comfortable (even had a king size bed), with everything you need and spotlessly clean. Our host was friendly and would go out of her way to help, the breakfast is great with enough to keep you going until dinner and all at a very reasonable price.

With Ambleside being such a great place as well we had just about the perfect break, even if we did have the remnants of hurricane Katia to deal with!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldPinDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

absolutely brilliant, fantastic welcome great room, fantastic hosts that cannot do anything wrong. first class breakfast cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 86e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We had a lovely one night stay here - we were lucky to get availability at short notice - and even though we arrived early, around mid-day, our room was ready to check into. It was equipped with everything we could possibly need and was absolutely sparkling clean, with an extremely comfortable king-size bed! Reg plied us with helpful maps and detailed information for walks on both days and his recommendations were perfect for our needs. The breakfast was delicious and very promptly served - there was nothing we could fault with our stay, except that it was too short!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

These reviews are so true. My wife and I stayed with Gwen and Reg for the first time in early August and all we had read here turned out to be spot on. The rooms have everything you need and are spotlessly clean. The breakfast leaves you wanting for nothing. The location, just on the edge of central and less than one minute from the main bus stop, is perfect. But the real gems are Gwen and Reg who welcomed us like old friends, as though we had been visiting the Amboseli for years, even though this was our first visit. With their help and advice we had a thoroughly enjoyable five days on the fells. We will definitely be returning, but you need to book early.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This is an absolute gem of a place, Gwen & Reg are absolute stars, breakfast super (scrambled eggs ti die for). Local knowledge and advice on walks was very informative and based on a wealth of experience.
Rooms very comfy, all doubles on suite with all the usual goodies provided.
I am itching to get back, always pop in for a cuppa when I am around and always receive a lovely welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hiker8869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Reg and Gwen are the perfect hosts. We could not fault our room or the breakfast which kept us going for most of the day. Their knowledge of the area enables them to help you plan your days and see sights you would not necessarily go to. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome.

We would thoroughly recommend this BnB as it is central to Ambleside within walking distance to restaurants and Windmere lake. One important aspect is that you can park your car off road, as there is not a lot of parking in Ambleside.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This was our second visit to the Amboseli, and yet again everything lived up to a very high standard. We took another couple wth us, and they were equally impressed (but are unable to write a review as they do not have the internet!) Gwen and Reg are ideal hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. When we arrived, we were shown into the garden and brought complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits. Breakfasts were excellent. After many years of frequenting a more expensive hotel, it's now difficult to imagine going anywhere other than the Amboseli.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheH3M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,721 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#2 of 103 in Ambleside
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#3 of 103 in Ambleside
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amboseli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Lodge

Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £80 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amboseli Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside, the Amboseli Lodge Bed and Breakfast Guest House is ideal for either that short getaway, or the longer holiday when you want the extra time to take in more of what the beautiful lake District has to offer.It is a great place to site yourself for visiting any area of the Lakes, whether you're walking, cycling, using public transport or your own car. Amboseli Lodge is an affordable bed and breakfast location at all times of the yearOffering Parking close to the centre of Ambleside make the Amboseli Lodge a favourite with walkers and shoppers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amboseli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing