We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, just like home!”
Review of Amboseli Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amboseli Lodge
Ranked #10 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, just like home!”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We would recommend this B & B to anyone, Gwen and Reg are a lovely friendly couple and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. A hearty breakfast sets you up for the day!!
Just dont choose our weekend in November!!
Slawit band friends!

Room Tip: All excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
296
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Due to personal circumstances we haven't been able to stay at Amboseli Lodge for a year until recently. Straight away we felt we were at home, it was as though we had never been away. Gwen and Reg make you feel very special. The place has a great atmosphere and we felt like family. Breakfasts were great, beautifully cooked and you never felt hungry until later in the day. The rooms are very comfortable, warm with lovely fluffy towels. The three days we were there were not long enough unfortunately. The location is very handy for cinema, shops and pubs. Can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Amboseli Lodge first attracted our attention last year when we walked past on a rainy October night and thought how warm and welcoming it looked, so we booked a (too) short stay this autumn. Our first impressions were entirely correct - Reg and Gwen are the perfect hosts, the rooms warm and spotlessly clean, and beautiful breakfasts (which you pre-order the night before). Very handy for Ambleside's cinemas and restaurants. Our bedroom at the front had a beautiful view overlooking the park and Loughrigg Fell beyond - the only downside being a bit of traffic noise if you open the windows. The bedroom at the back presumably overlooks the garden and well marked out parking area (swapping about of cars occasionally necessary). For us, Amboseli Lodge was just about perfect and we are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlinwizardYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

What a great b&b Reg and Gwen where very welcoming hosts a nice fresh pot of coffee was a very nice touch after a long journey,location is execellent very close to town centre with parking at the rear.
Very knowledgable about the area places to eat ,walks ect ,the rooms are large very clean and comfortable,great breakfasts, altogether a great b&b

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burstwickians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Amboseli Lodge is a fantastic place to stay. Great location (walking distance to pubs/restaurants in Ambleside) spotless warm rooms, big fluffy towels, lovely breakfasts and parking. You can even leave your wet walking gear in the cupboard and it'll be nice and dry for you in the morning!
The best thing about it though are the owners Gwen and Reg, they are the most helpful lovely people you could ever meet. You're offered coffee/tea when you arrive (and you even get a choccie biscuit!) and they're full of helpful advice, and suggestions for Ambleside and the Lakes in general. Have stayed a few times now, they remember you and you feel like family when you come back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyaarming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

A very clean b&b right in the heart of Ambleside. The rooms are large and well kept; there is also private parking at the back. The owners are very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast is very satisfying. Excellent value!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was exactly what you hope for in a B&B.

It was in the perfect location (just a short walk to the restaurants!) with its own parking, the room was very comfortable (even had a king size bed), with everything you need and spotlessly clean. Our host was friendly and would go out of her way to help, the breakfast is great with enough to keep you going until dinner and all at a very reasonable price.

With Ambleside being such a great place as well we had just about the perfect break, even if we did have the remnants of hurricane Katia to deal with!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldPinDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,663 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amboseli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Lodge

Property: Amboseli Lodge
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amboseli Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside, the Amboseli Lodge Bed and Breakfast Guest House is ideal for either that short getaway, or the longer holiday when you want the extra time to take in more of what the beautiful lake District has to offer.It is a great place to site yourself for visiting any area of the Lakes, whether you're walking, cycling, using public transport or your own car. Amboseli Lodge is an affordable bed and breakfast location at all times of the yearOffering Parking close to the centre of Ambleside make the Amboseli Lodge a favourite with walkers and shoppers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amboseli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing