We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'The best B/B we have ever stayed in'”
Review of Amboseli Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amboseli Lodge
Ranked #15 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“'The best B/B we have ever stayed in'”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We have stayed in many B&B's in the Lake District but this one stands out from them all. Gwen and Reg welcome you as if you are family, they couldn't do enough. The whole house is spotless and the breakfasts are fab. Gwen even told us where the little 'eggies' came from. Amboseli Lodge is ideally situated in the lovely village of Ambleside. We had a lovely stay and will definitely return. We would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenfrank1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
286
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, NH
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We had a nice room in the back of the house with a good view of the fells. The breakfast is good but average for a good B and B. The hosts are very knowledgable about the area and quite helpful in suggesting walks around Ambleside. BUT there is no lounge to relax in and chat with other guests. We feel this is a real drawback for an otherwise good B & B. After all if one wanted absolute privacy one would stay in a hotel room. So good room, good breakfast, helpful hosts so rating them average ONLY reflects the lack of a lounge; otherwise we would rate it higher.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djhkswis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen2911, Owner at Amboseli Lodge, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank-you for your comments. We are always keen to take on board the views of our guests, and do our best to respond in a positive way to any suggestions which may arise.
However, this particular review refers in essence to a “ problem “ which we would find very difficult to rectify. We simply do not have a room available which could be offered as a guest lounge and the size and layout of Amboseli Lodge effectively rules this out as a possible future facility.
In view of this we do not advertise or suggest that we do have such a facility, and all booking enquiries are invited to ask for any information which they may find important to their proposed booking.
It’s such a shame that in this case you chose not to raise what was apparently such an important part of your requirements at that time, as it would have helped to reduce your disappointment.
We hope that you are able to acheive a greater level of satisfaction at any future accommodation you may use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Free parking in the Lake District, A friendly welcome straight on to first name terms between us and our hosts Reg and Gwen, what a lovely couple, Offer of tea on arrival, room spotlessly clean and spacious. We fancied a walk and Reg was on hand with maps and advice were to walk for a couple of hours. Bed comfortable room quiet. A great selection for breakfast and well presented, We stayed two nights and hopefully will return sometime soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Our second stay at Amboseli Lodge with the marvellous Gwen and Reg, they make your stay so good you don't want to leave! The rooms are spotless with every facility you could want from a B&B, better than most Hotels we have stayed in. A welcoming hot drink and biscuits on arrival. Breakfast cooked to perfection and with such a choice you feel very spoilt and set up for the day. Ideally located in Ambleside giving great access to fantastic walks and scenery, Reg is a mind of excellent advise on walks and places to go. Free parking is such a bonus. We have already booked for later in the year and wouldn't dream of looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Great value for money, good location with free parking. Rooms were very clean, and everything worked. We had tea on arrival, excellent breakfasts, and our hosts made us very welcome. Would definitely recommend it, and we have already booked again for later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Had a short break with my boyfriend, the second last week of March. We received a warm welcome from Reg on arrival with a welcoming come of tea. The room was immaculate and the breakfasts delicious. Reg and Gwen were very attentive and made our stay very relaxing and enjoyable.We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay again! I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast if you're going to Ambeslide, it's a real treat! Penny, Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This is the 3rd year that I have stayed at Amboseli Lodge and I have booked again for next year. What better recommendation could you have.
Every room is a delight and absolutely immaculate. The breakfasts really set you up for the day and Reg and Gwen give you such a warm welcome. Everything that you could possibly want to make your stay perfect in this most beautiful part of the world.

Jill C

Room Tip: All the rooms are delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#3 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#16 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amboseli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Lodge

Property: Amboseli Lodge
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amboseli Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside, the Amboseli Lodge Bed and Breakfast Guest House is ideal for either that short getaway, or the longer holiday when you want the extra time to take in more of what the beautiful lake District has to offer.It is a great place to site yourself for visiting any area of the Lakes, whether you're walking, cycling, using public transport or your own car. Amboseli Lodge is an affordable bed and breakfast location at all times of the yearOffering Parking close to the centre of Ambleside make the Amboseli Lodge a favourite with walkers and shoppers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amboseli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing