We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Amboseli Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amboseli Lodge
Ranked #1 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This was our second visit to Amboseli lodge and just as the first visit we can not fault a thing. Gwen & Reg were lovely and made us feel very welcome. Location, room and breakfasts were all excellent and we'll definately be returning to see Gwen & Reg when we next visit Ambleside.

Room Tip: Stayed in Loughrigg Room twice and cannot fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

Just enjoyed another great stay at Amboseli Lodge. Looking forward to our next visit in two weeks time. What we can be sure of isa lovely warm welcome from Gwen & Reg. A fantastic & plentiful breakfast [Reg,s scrambled eggs a must] rooms spotlessly clean and very comfortable beds. The views from the windows of the park & the fells are beautiful. The location is perfect for a variation of walks to suit all levels walkers.We have drank in most of the pubs & eaten in a lot of the restaurants and enjoyed them all. We will book early for our September visit as staying somewhere else would not be quite the same.Mike & Josie

Room Tip: All three rooms are equally as good as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We have stayed at Amboseli now a number of times and have always had a wonderful time. Gwen and Reg make you feel so very welcome and take the extra time to talk to you and ensure you are happy. The breakfasts are wonderful as our weight can testify for
The location itself is ideal with being in the very centre of Ambleside with a wonderful view of the park and 5 minutes from the fantastic countryside, but also close to the restaurants and bars for an evening out.
we wil be back.

Room Tip: The back room overlooks the lovely garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Amboseli Lodge is a lovely B&B! Since we found Reg and Gwen’s B&B a few years ago, we have returned every year. We would visit more often if the flight from Texas weren’t so long and tiring. With only 3 rooms, you won’t get lost in the crowd. Staying at the Amboseli Lodge is like staying with family. The rooms are exceptionally well furnished and decorated. The location in Ambleside is ideal. But the best feature of Amboseli is the management team. Want to chat? Need local information? Have a medical problem (we did!) Want your breakfast a little different? Want walking recommendations? Reg and Gwen are the best you can find!
Lewis and Jan

Room Tip: Every room is excellent, but there are only 3 - book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis USA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

It was a nice experience to stay at this B&B. The rooms where perfecly clean and a nice welcome with coffee and tea on arrival. Beds are very comfortabe and gives you a good nights sleep. The location is perfect close to "downtown" Ambleside and walks starting practically from the door. The walls between the rooms are a littel thin so you have to think about to keep the noice level down.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sniff112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This has now been our fourth visit to this wonderful bed and breakfast hotel. A very warm personal welcome and freshly brewed coffee with biscuits greet you upon arrival. The decor, furniture and cleanliness of the Amboseli Lodge are faultless. Every ingredient on the breakfast menu is of the very highest quality and wonderfully cooked. Gwen and Reg's local knowledge knows no bounds. This couple will do everything possible to ensure you have a truly wonderful stay Lastly, this hotel is ideally situated being a very short walk into Ambleside and very close to the bus station.

Room Tip: Each of the three bedrooms are equally furnished to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angie186377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Had a fantastic few days at Amboseli lodge as soon as you knock on the door you are made to feel so welcome, Gwens cheery smile and very welcome tray of tea and biscuits is just the start to the wonderful hospitality we had all weekend. the rooms are spotless with the most comfortable bed and pillows you could ask for.Your made to feel nothing is too much trouble, the fantastic freshly prepared breakfast sets you up for the day with various choices to satisfy anybodies taste be it cooked breakfast or pancakes! cant recommend highly enough!
Thanks Gwen and Reg see you again soon. kim & Phil Lindop

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,721 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#2 of 103 in Ambleside
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#3 of 103 in Ambleside
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amboseli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Lodge

Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £80 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amboseli Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside, the Amboseli Lodge Bed and Breakfast Guest House is ideal for either that short getaway, or the longer holiday when you want the extra time to take in more of what the beautiful lake District has to offer.It is a great place to site yourself for visiting any area of the Lakes, whether you're walking, cycling, using public transport or your own car. Amboseli Lodge is an affordable bed and breakfast location at all times of the yearOffering Parking close to the centre of Ambleside make the Amboseli Lodge a favourite with walkers and shoppers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amboseli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing