We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verg Good Accommodation”
Review of Amboseli Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amboseli Lodge
Ranked #2 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Verg Good Accommodation”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We don't usually stay over in Ambleside, being lucky to live locally enough to make it a day trip, however we had a couple of free nights outside of the school holidays and so took advantage by staying at the Amboseli lodge. I won't bother to re-iterate what other people have said about both the b&b itself and the owners, as we can vouch for the accuracy of the comments.

Just one minor point to note: Amboseli Lodge fronts onto one of Ambleside's busiest roads. We stayed mid-week but the traffic (both vehicular and people) was still heavy and the double glazing couldn't keep out all of the noise which lasted until well into the night. So be careful if you are a light sleeper. And whilst the view of church and fells from the bedroom was lovely we were also in full sight of people playing on the nearby putting course, so when we needed privacy, we had to block out those lovely views.

However, the b&b itself is highly recommended

Room Tip: The bedroom at the rear of the b&b will probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DMR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
303
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We decided very much at the last minute to take a night out up in the lakes and were supremely lucky to find this lodge available. The rooms are furnished and kitted out to a very high standard but what makes the Amboseli special are the owners. What a lovely and welcoming couple Gwen and Reg are. The next time we plan for a trip up the lakes we will be sure to look for the Amboseli first.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Amboseli Lodge which is conveniently situated a couple of minutes walk from the shops and restaurants of Ambleside. We were very comfortable in the Wansfell Room which looked out from the rear of the property over the town and Wansfell. This room and its en suite had clearly been refurbished quite recently and were in pristine condition. The other two rooms faced the park at the front of the house.

Gwen and Reg were excellent hosts welcoming us with tea and biscuits on our arrival. There was a good choice for breakfast which guests are asked to choose the night before. Rooms were tidied daily. Parking was available at the rear in a block of four spaces, so if all guests have cars there can be a bit of shuffling around, but it worked well when we were there.

A very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: It's not noisy at the front of the house though it is on a main road, but for even more quiet b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_and_Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Visited Amboseli again and yet another lovely stay. Gwen and Reg are the perfect hosts. Spotlessly clean, great location/ lovely breakfast - what more do you want? Highly recommended, and can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Amboseli lodge for four nights and we enjoyed our stay. Gwen and Reg gave us a friendly and pristine service and were knowledgeable about the district and places distant. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: All room are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1spass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This was our second visit to Amboseli lodge and just as the first visit we can not fault a thing. Gwen & Reg were lovely and made us feel very welcome. Location, room and breakfasts were all excellent and we'll definately be returning to see Gwen & Reg when we next visit Ambleside.

Room Tip: Stayed in Loughrigg Room twice and cannot fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Just enjoyed another great stay at Amboseli Lodge. Looking forward to our next visit in two weeks time. What we can be sure of isa lovely warm welcome from Gwen & Reg. A fantastic & plentiful breakfast [Reg,s scrambled eggs a must] rooms spotlessly clean and very comfortable beds. The views from the windows of the park & the fells are beautiful. The location is perfect for a variation of walks to suit all levels walkers.We have drank in most of the pubs & eaten in a lot of the restaurants and enjoyed them all. We will book early for our September visit as staying somewhere else would not be quite the same.Mike & Josie

Room Tip: All three rooms are equally as good as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
541 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amboseli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Lodge

Property: Amboseli Lodge
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amboseli Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside, the Amboseli Lodge Bed and Breakfast Guest House is ideal for either that short getaway, or the longer holiday when you want the extra time to take in more of what the beautiful lake District has to offer.It is a great place to site yourself for visiting any area of the Lakes, whether you're walking, cycling, using public transport or your own car. Amboseli Lodge is an affordable bed and breakfast location at all times of the yearOffering Parking close to the centre of Ambleside make the Amboseli Lodge a favourite with walkers and shoppers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amboseli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing