We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply the best”
Review of Amboseli Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amboseli Lodge
Ranked #6 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“simply the best”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

my wife Josephine and I have stayed in several locations in the lake district and without a doubt Ambleside is our favourite and coupled with a stay at the Amboseli Lodge makes for a perfect short break or holiday in this wonderful guest house. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean, Breakfast offers a variety of choice with cereal, fruit and a wide choice of cooked meals. There is always a warm and friendly welcome from your hosts Gwen and Reg and nothing at all is too much trouble to help you or advise should you need it. A lovely couple in a lovely guest house in one of the most beautiful parts of the country. A ten out of ten every time

Room Tip: There is not one room better than the other, they are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
305
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Amboseli lodge is in a prime location, close the town centre and lake. It is spotlessly clean, the rooms are spacious and there is a lovely garden area for guests to sit out. As for the breakfasts, they were beautifully cooked and substantial. All in all we can highly recommend this lovely guest house.

Room Tip: We chose the front double which faced the road, however it was peaceful at night and the triple glaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Excellent base for a short break in Ambleside. Gwen and Reg are perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Room was lovely and comfortable and spotless. Gwen's breakfast is lovely and will set you up for the day. Central location and lots of great places to eat within 10 mins walk - Fellinis especially good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solihullgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

There is absolutely nothing detracting from a perfect score here. Gwyn and Reg attend to every detain to make the stay great. Reg knows every rock in these surrounding hills and is indispensable for walkers. You are just a hundred yards from a dozen restaurants, Amboseli has off street parking, and the facility is flawless. And, Gwyn's wonderful breakfast and upbeat attitude will start your day off with a bang.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnutGeorgiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We received a warm welcome and Gwen brought us a cup of tea each as we settled into our beautiful spacious room. The en-suite was very comfortable and modern as was the bedroom, they provide a hospitality tray with everything you can think of to choose from on it, an extremely comfortable bed awaited us and a very peaceful nights sleep. Our breakfast was a hearty one with locally produced sausages and bacon as much tea, coffee and toast as we could manage and freindly conversation. Gwen and Reg were both very helpful and advised us on the best places to eat in Ambleside, on the whole it was a lovely relaxing experience which we cant wait to repeat.

Room Tip: We stayed in Fairfield which was a double bed facing the front of the house which looked onto the bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great bed and breakfast. Our friendly hosts, Gwen and Reg looked after us very well. Accommodation was very clean and had everything you could possibly want. Location was great too, easy to walk into Ambleside where there were lots of places to eat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Excellent B&B, very hospitable hosts hosts who welcomed and looked after us very well. The room was not massive but clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast was very good. Particularly liked the tea or coffee on arrival each day, easy parking and the offer to dry wet clothing - which was much needed when we were there.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front, would request the rear room on our next visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#7 of 103 in Ambleside
1,177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#3 of 103 in Ambleside
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amboseli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Lodge

Property: Amboseli Lodge
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amboseli Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside, the Amboseli Lodge Bed and Breakfast Guest House is ideal for either that short getaway, or the longer holiday when you want the extra time to take in more of what the beautiful lake District has to offer.It is a great place to site yourself for visiting any area of the Lakes, whether you're walking, cycling, using public transport or your own car. Amboseli Lodge is an affordable bed and breakfast location at all times of the yearOffering Parking close to the centre of Ambleside make the Amboseli Lodge a favourite with walkers and shoppers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amboseli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing