We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amboseli Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amboseli Lodge
Ranked #16 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carluke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have been visiting Ambleside for 35 years and this is our best b&b experience. Gwen & Reg are great hosts. We were served a lovely cuppa on arrival and made to feel very welcome. Room was lovely, very comfortable and spotlessly clean with a delicious breakfast. We have booked another break in October and can't wait.
Linda & Austin

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
280
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We knew we were in for a wonderful four-night stay at Amboseli Lodge when Gwen came out to meet us at the bus stop as we arrived! Our room (Wansfell) was big and comfortable and spotlessly clean, with a stunning view of Wansfell Peak as well as a lovely backyard garden space that was available for us to enjoy. We were just a short walk from restaurants and shops, which was important as we had no car. We were also walking distance to a number of walking trails, which was perfect for our walking holiday. Breakfasts were substantial and tasty, served in a nice space overlooking a park. Gwen and Reg went out of their way to make us comfortable and provide us with information about walks and things to do in Ambleside. We would highly recommend Amboseli Lodge to others.

Room Tip: Wansfell Room was very large and the bathroom was also spacious. The view out over Wansfell Peak was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just back from a four day stay at Amboseli Lodge, Ambleside this being our third stay at the Lodge which in itself tells its own story.

The B&B has prime location being just meters away from the town centre, it has its own parking for cars along with comfortable and spotlessly clean rooms. For breakfast there on offer a variety of choice from fresh fruit salad, cereal and a wide choice of cooked meals.

Gwen and Reg made us feel at home from the moment we arrived to the moment we left

See you again in the near future

Julie & Trev R

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PitmanTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from a weekend stay . Had a great time and would most certainly return . Gwen and Reg most helpful and made you feel welcome at first contact . The offer of a tea or coffee after driving was most welcome before we hit the hostelries for other refreshment ! Breakfast was more than adequate and catered for all tastes .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethanyshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This was my first stay at Amboseli Lodge on the recommendation of my parents and I was not disappointed. The room was spotlessly clean, with amazingly comfortable memory foam beds. Gwen and Reg were fabulous hosts showing a genuine interest in our plans and advising us on the best route, sights etc. Reg's scrambled eggs are not to be missed! Would fully recommend and definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Back from a great weekend staying at Amboseli Lodge - Gwen and Reg as usual the perfect hosts - lovely accommodation. As usual the room was perfect and so was our stay. Lovely cup of tea on our arrival

Room Tip: We like Wansfell but all rooms are good and spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

my wife Josephine and I have stayed in several locations in the lake district and without a doubt Ambleside is our favourite and coupled with a stay at the Amboseli Lodge makes for a perfect short break or holiday in this wonderful guest house. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean, Breakfast offers a variety of choice with cereal, fruit and a wide choice of cooked meals. There is always a warm and friendly welcome from your hosts Gwen and Reg and nothing at all is too much trouble to help you or advise should you need it. A lovely couple in a lovely guest house in one of the most beautiful parts of the country. A ten out of ten every time

Room Tip: There is not one room better than the other, they are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#15 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amboseli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Lodge

Property: Amboseli Lodge
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amboseli Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside, the Amboseli Lodge Bed and Breakfast Guest House is ideal for either that short getaway, or the longer holiday when you want the extra time to take in more of what the beautiful lake District has to offer.It is a great place to site yourself for visiting any area of the Lakes, whether you're walking, cycling, using public transport or your own car. Amboseli Lodge is an affordable bed and breakfast location at all times of the yearOffering Parking close to the centre of Ambleside make the Amboseli Lodge a favourite with walkers and shoppers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amboseli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing