We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top quality hospitality & location to boot.....”
Review of Amboseli Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amboseli Lodge
Ranked #15 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top quality hospitality & location to boot.....”
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Gwen and Reg really know how to make you feel at home. A cup of tea on arrival & some fantastic breakfasts to start off each day. Easy parking arrangements, good facilities and a location that offers quick access to the centre of Ambleside and nearby walks. Will certainly be returning soon!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingerbread_Man42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
287
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co Durham
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Have just returned from Amboseli Lodge and had a fantastic time. Great welcome, excellent room and wonderful breakfasts. Arrived as guests and left as friends. Will definately return.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photoman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2010

Great location with friendly service, what more could you want? Private parking was a bonus, the rooms clean and modern with good ensuite facilities. The owners really enjoy running the B&B, and made you feel part of their family.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trianandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2010

This was the first time we had stayed in Amboseli Lodge and it certainly won't be the last. Gwen & Reg made us feel very welcome, like home from home. Our room was clean, modern and had exactly what we needed.
B&B situated near to Ambleside centre, great for restaurants and shops. Also parking at the rear was a bonus.
We thought it was an ideal base for our stay in Ambleside.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2010

Comfortable and friendly, with easy access to the centre of Ambleside, and conveniently situated to explore further afield by car or public transport. Good-sized bedroom, well-appointed bathroom, excellent breakfasts, everywhere spotlessly clean and well-decorated.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ortoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester,UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

I didn't really want to write this review as we wanted to keep this place to ourselves. Very last minute booking and couldn't have done better. the location is great, room was spotlessly clean and Gwen was a star...even when I left some clothes behind! Breakfast was extremely good and there is even parking. ..also liked the fact that unlike a number of other places they did not try to sting us for extra money when we only wanted to book one night!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viloet64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at Amboseli Lodge. We have stayed in a few guest houses in Ambleside and can sincerely say that this one is the best by far. We received a very warm welcome from the lovely Gwen, who showed us to our room which was at the back of the house with a lovely view of the fells. I was very impressed with the quality of furniture and fittings in the bedroom and bathroom, and the exceptionally high standard of cleanliness throughout the establishment. The bathroom was very spacious and I appreciated that it had a bath, which I took advantage of on a couple of occasions to ease my tired muscles after we had been out walking!

The breakfasts were fantastic in terms of choice and quality. As I tend not to get my "5 a day" when on holiday, I really appreciated the fruit salad, which I had along with yogurt. I also had scrambled eggs a couple of days, served on lovely wholemeal bread with seeds in it - a change from the usual boring brown bread. As a treat one day I had the American pancakes with warm maple syrup (yummy!!) and also had croissants with wee jars of jam another day. My husband really enjoyed the full English breakfast option.

Gwen and Reg were the perfect hosts - I happened to mention one morning at breakfast that it was my birthday and Gwen came through from the kitchen and sung "happy birthday" to me and handed me a birthday card and some chocs - that was such a lovely touch, the sort of thing that makes this guest house stand out above the rest.

I would highly recommend Amboseli Lodge to anyone wishing quality accommodation and good hospitality for a short break in Ambleside - we will most definitely go back there on our next trip to the Lake District.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metalminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#16 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amboseli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Lodge

Property: Amboseli Lodge
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amboseli Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside, the Amboseli Lodge Bed and Breakfast Guest House is ideal for either that short getaway, or the longer holiday when you want the extra time to take in more of what the beautiful lake District has to offer.It is a great place to site yourself for visiting any area of the Lakes, whether you're walking, cycling, using public transport or your own car. Amboseli Lodge is an affordable bed and breakfast location at all times of the yearOffering Parking close to the centre of Ambleside make the Amboseli Lodge a favourite with walkers and shoppers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amboseli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing