We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid warm welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amboseli Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amboseli Lodge
Ranked #14 of 105 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Splendid warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

You are welcomed so warmly and given tea and coffee brought to your room. The breakfast menu is excellent with plenty to choose from. The rooms are warm and cosy and the beds are heavenly All the rooms have everything one could need.
The location is excellent for walking into the town with plenty of excellent pubs and restaurants and shops. It also has an excellent bus service if you want to leave your car in their private parking area.
I'm just looking forward to my next visit to Amboseli Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
275
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leyland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2010

As usual our stay here was brilliant. Been going here for the past 8 years and wont stay anywhere else in the lake district.The room are all fantastic and very clean(have stayed in all of then) .
Gwen and Reg are very welcoming and always have a cup of tea ready for our arrival There is a good car park at the back of the guest house.
The breakfast is to die for, very good choice and plenty of it.
The location is ideal for both walking and travelling round the lake district.
The veiws from the bedrooms are beautifull and when we were there in December the tops were covered in snow and we even watched a deer from out room.
There is nothing to dislike about this B&B and Gwen and Reg are the best
Will be back next year

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennycolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

Before we arrived we had both e mail and phone messages about the arrangements for arrival.
On arrival the room was spotless, left on the bed was a choice of breakfast options to fill out. There was plenty of choice.
The location was close to all the amenities, there was also parking at the rear of the guest house.
The attention to detail and frendliness of the proprioters was excellent.
Breakfast was also excellent.
There was nothing about our stay we dissliked.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveu1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

Wow, wow, wow what a find! Best B and B we have ever stayed in. Everything excellent. The friendly hosts, extremely clean accomodation ( with a lovely view from the front ,of the park,church and mountains), extensive choice for breakfast. Having a parking space at the back of the guest house is a bonus. Ideal lcoation for walking to the shops, restaurants, cinemas etc.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakes201010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

This was our first visit to Amboseli Lodge and it certainly won't be our last. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Our room (Fairfield) was really lovely, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast made with locally sourced produce was delicious with lots of choice and a lovely bowl of fresh fruit. Gwen and Reg are a lovely couple, very friendly and helpful and we hope to see them again soon.
Thank you both very much for a wonderful stay.

Ruth Froes, Rob Ryan

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Very good quality of accommodation with very friendly people. Well placed for walking from the village; and with a wide range of suggested routes. Great breakfast with lots of choice and more than I could eat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doug186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

We found this small but glorious B&B by accident in 2006, and have been back every year since.

It is difficult to talk about Amboseli Lodge in anything but superlatives, such is the impact it has - not just on us but on all other guests, judging by the conversations we have had with many of them.

Bedrooms are tastefully and generously furnished, bright, airy and spotlessly clean. The food and service are excellent.

But what sets Amboseli Lodge head and shoulders above its competitors is that it is such a a friendly and helpful place. That, of course, is down to Gwen and Reg Gibson, who go out of their way to look after their guests and for whom nothing seems to be too much trouble. They make all their guests feel like one of the family - and a very happy family at that.

It is also worth noting that Amboseli Lodge is just a short stroll from Ambleside's shops, pubs and restaurants.

We will be returning to Amboseli Lodge next year and, hopefully, for many years to come. We cannot conceive of visiting the Lakes and staying anywhere else.

Brian and Carol Asplin

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brianasplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#12 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amboseli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Lodge

Property: Amboseli Lodge
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amboseli Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside, the Amboseli Lodge Bed and Breakfast Guest House is ideal for either that short getaway, or the longer holiday when you want the extra time to take in more of what the beautiful lake District has to offer.It is a great place to site yourself for visiting any area of the Lakes, whether you're walking, cycling, using public transport or your own car. Amboseli Lodge is an affordable bed and breakfast location at all times of the yearOffering Parking close to the centre of Ambleside make the Amboseli Lodge a favourite with walkers and shoppers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amboseli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing