We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good base for exploring the Lake District”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Mounting Steps

The original horses' mounting steps next to the front door.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The original horses' mounting steps next to the front door.
Sleep well in the four poster bed. Dressing table, & built-in wardrobes provide ample storage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The original horses' mounting steps next to the front door.
Sleep well in the four poster bed. Dressing table, & built-in wardrobes provide ample storage
The kitchen is very well equipped with fine views of Wansfell & seasonal views of Lake Windermere.
Relax in the whirlpool bath after a day's walking.
The Mounting Steps is a captivating Grade 2 listed building set in a striking cobbled courtyard
Enjoy the beautiful river garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
zark007
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good base for exploring the Lake District”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A lovely little property equipped with all you could need. Parking is outside and there is a lovely private riverside garden across the road where we watched a kingfisher fishing. Being spread over 3 floors it would not be ideal if you have mobility issues but if you have come to climb mountains it is not a problem

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve G
Bradwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“A good stay altogether - we would come back.”
Reviewed 17 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The cottage is very appropriate for a two people stay. The gardens over the road was peaceful, pretty and delightful.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulceby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quirky nature of the property
Liked least: A lot of stairs, but that also added to the character
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lucy M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect little getaway”
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We decided to book a short November stay in the lake district. The mounting steps is perfect for a romantic weekend away. When we walked in the door, we were not entirely sure what to expect, but quickly realised that this place was better than we could ever have imagined. The weather was awful outside, but because the cottage was so warm and cosy it was not an issue. The owners were very accommodating with a helpful information pack and very kindly left a bottle of wine and some chocolates for our enjoyment. It's an easy walk into the town centre, but a torch is highly recommended as there are no streetlights on the road leading in. The only issue we had was in finding the cottage, as the courtyard entrance is not easily apparent from the road, so we nearly missed it the first few times we drove in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel of the place
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet E P
1 review
“What a find!”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

As soon as we opened the front door I knew I had made the right decision in booking "The Mounting Steps". The cottage was furnished to a high standard,very welcoming and comfortable! Especially after enjoying long walks around Ambleside. Staying here we only used the car one day as there is so much to do on foot. Ambleside has great places to eat out but the kitchen was great for cooking too! It was also lovely to sit in the garden by the river, although across the road and enjoy the views. My first visit to the Lakes and what a find we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property made you feel relaxed and easy access to Ambleside
Liked least: Dustman not emptying bin!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cagla D
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“An enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The first thing we noticed was that the pictures did not do the cottage or the surrounding area justice! The cottage was very well furnished and in an immaculate condition, on top of being in an ideal location within the Lake district, situated within walking distance to the Fairfield horseshoe (attempt in good weather) and to the local shops in Ambleside where you will find all provisions. You also have Loughrigg fell situated behind the cottage, and very easily accessible through public footpaths.

For what was on offer, we could not have found anything superior to it. Also, all our queries were answered very promptly through email and getting to the cottage and accessing it was a very straightforward process.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing