We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful...”
Review of Lacet House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lacet House
Ranked #27 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We've came to Lacet House for years now, and it is really pretty. The rooms are clean and the owners are friendly. The breakfasts are filling and delicious and they have options for everyone, whether you are a meat-eater or vegetarian. The sights from the windows are breathtaking, you can see Ambleside but if you look far into the sky, you can see the peak of the mountains and hills. It is a very cosy place, and is welcoming to all.

Room Tip: The top floor has a mini fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LakesLover599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed two nights in Lacet House. We booked based on TripAdvisor reviews and can only agree that it's a fantastic place. Very nice couple, Catherine and Graham, who runs it. The bedroom was excellent, the bed comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. You had everything you needed, apart from one little thing. It's an old house so you don't have wifi in your room. It worked it the breakfast room, but only after a reboot (I should have asked for it the first day so no blame on the hosts). It's not really a big thing but good to know. Ambleside was beautiful, a tourist haven, but as soon as you started walking up the fell you got away from the hordes of people. Lots of restaurants and pubs and things to do. And of course, the closeness to Lake Windermere!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank karinmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recently stayed a couple of nights and felt right at home. The room was comfortable and clean. The off street parking was fantastic (and essential in Ambleside!).
The hosts were wonderful. So caring and attentive. We needed to leave quite early one morning and they accommodated us with an early breakfast - so considerate!
This accommodation is right in the heart of Ambleside so access to restaurants etc is easy.
Great place, great hosts - would stay again!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LisaSnowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbriaMelvin, Owner at Lacet House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Thank you, we're so glad your stay was a comfortable one, we hope to see you again soon.
Positive comments are always lovely to receive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights whilst in the area for the Great North Swim. Room was lovely, spacious, clean and comfortable. Great location - very close to the shops and cafes/restaurants in the town. Catherine and Graham were welcoming hosts and breakfast was delicious.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sarahlucy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in June on the way home from Scotland and found the location fantastic for exploring. Situated near the town centre we were within easy walk of the shops and restaurants. Our room itself was on the top floor and had a huge comfortable bed with a nice bathroom. The breakfasts were delicious with lots of choice so everyone is catered for. The owners are lovely and very easy to talk to. We took advantage of the Zeffirelli meal deal (meal and cinema) as this was within stumbling distance of the B and B. Brilliant location for Bowness and Grasmere as well. Would happily stay here again. There were 3 parking spaces situated behind the B and B and we were lucky enough to always be able to park there during our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbriaMelvin, Owner at Lacet House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Thank you your positive comments are very much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We are Australians visiting relatives in UK. As part of our holiday we visited Ambleside in the beautiful Lake District. My cousin had booked, sight unseen, for 2 nights at Lacet House, a B&B right in the heart of Ambleside. What a wonderful haven it proved to be! We were welcomed by host, Catherine and shown to our well appointed, extremely clean and comfortable room. The bed was extra comfy and the bathroom,though small, was spotless and more than adequate. Breakfast was fantastic, offering a wide choice of excellently prepared meals. We later met Graham, Catherine's husband, who was equally as hospitable as his lovely wife. We were made very welcome and we would willingly recommend this B&B to visitors to the Lake District.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This place is in the perfect location with added bonus of parking !!Ambleside is a wonderful villiage with abit of everything,this gem of a place comes highly recommended.On arrival we were made to feel extremely welcome. The rooms are a great size and comfortable,theres plenty on the breakfast menu including having the option of it brought up to your bed !!! which was a wonderful for us ...nothing is to much trouble and we will definitely return!! :))

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbriaMelvin, Owner at Lacet House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

What a lovely cheery review thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
0.3 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haven Cottage
Haven Cottage
#6 of 102 in Ambleside
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Brathay Lodge
Brathay Lodge
#23 of 102 in Ambleside
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#18 of 102 in Ambleside
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lacet House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lacet House

Address: Kelsick Road, Ambleside LA22 0EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £77 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lacet House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Lacet House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lacet House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing