We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous quirky cottage!”
Perfect place to take off your boots and enjoy something cold at the end of the day!!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Perfect place to take off your boots and enjoy something cold at the end of the day!!!
Quirky, dog friendly retreat! Lounge with flat screen Television
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Perfect place to take off your boots and enjoy something cold at the end of the day!!!
Quirky, dog friendly retreat!
Lounge with flat screen Television
Master bedroom set up with king sized bed
master bedroom set up with twin beds
Master bedroom
Bathroom with electric shower over bath
Bathroom with electric shower over bath
Layout
Kitchen with gas hob, dishwasher, full size fridge/freezer, microwave
Second bedroom with original beams, solar powered velux.  Full of character.
second bedroom with views to the fells
Lounge/kitchen
view from second bedroom
Christmas in 2 The Old Coach House
bedroom lounge area with dressing table.
We absolutely love special occasions!!
captures the serenity of the cottage perfectly - heaven!
So peaceful!!!!
View from master bedroom
Ambleside town centre
The Bridge House Ambleside!
One of many traditional bars - The Golden Rule
Zeferelli's cinema and Jazz bar, wine bar
Compston Road Ambleside
Enjoy a refreshing drink at Zeferreli's and gaze at Wansfell!
St Mary's Church Ambleside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
khorrabin
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous quirky cottage!”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We are coming to the end of a 3 day stay at the end of May. The cottage is spotlessly clean and has everything you could possibly need. The location is perfect between Ambleside town centre and Waterhead. According to other posts which say parking is narrow...Well we have a Mercedes A Class and it fitted quite nicely next to a big BMW X5 with no problems at all. The fact that the cottage is also dog friendly just makes it fabulous. The place is a perfect little hideaway for a relaxing stay in the lakes. Will be sad to leave today.
Thank you so much Margaret for the wine and essentials left it was such a lovely thought. X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your great review and yes the parking space is perfectly adequate and is a bonus to have in such a central Ambleside location!!! and with the amount of activities right from the doorstep hopefully the car does not have to move - Hope to welcome you back in the future. Mx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happiness...
1 review
“COSY, DOG FRIENDLY COTTAGE AND WELL SITUATED”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

EXCELLENT dog friendly cottage situated just 10 mins walk from lake windermere.... this cottage has everything you need its like being home from home... we stayed Monday to Friday for our anniversary and on arrival Margaret had very kindly left us a balloon and a lovely bottle of wine to celebrate (thankyou so much x) aswell as bread milk juice and everyday cleaning products, its a great little cottage just mins away from the shops bars and restaurants but if you prefer after a busy day out its just perfect to relax..... Margaret is literally at the end of the phone should you need her which is really handy... should we return to the lakes we wont hesitate in returning to 2 the old coach house, me my husband and our dog penny absolutely loved it...... thankyou so much Margaret for everything, you really have got a beautiful cottage, we made some great memories that will last a lifetime............. xxxx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for such a fab review. It was our pleasure to have you and Penny of course. Hope to see you again Mx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley39
Birmingham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 5 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This cottage is very quirky in its layout but was perfect for three of us and a dog. The kitchen is well stocked for cooking. The cottage is perfectly placed for walking into Ambleside for the restaurants and pubs. The fact that it takes dogs is great and ours loved it! Margaret was a lovely host and was very communicative and left us a nice bottle of wine and some basics for when we arrived which was a nice touch. The parking isn't for a large car but my Honda Civic fitted in just fine. We had the large bedroom which overlooks the kitchen and was a lovely airy room. All in all, a briliant place to stay and, if you have a dog, far better than a hotel in our opinion.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for an amazing review. It is very difficult to describe the cottage and its quirkiness but you have managed. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirstyMac...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful on Windermere”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in May 2016

Shockingly it's almost a year since we stayed here! But we still remember it vividly! What a gorgeous and quirky wee cottage! Ideally placed in the centre of Ambleside. Handy for all local amenities. Fabulous attention to detail from booking enquiry to checking out! We will hopefully be back sometime soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Many thanks for reviewing our cottage. Sounds like you had a fantastic holiday. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl N
2 reviews
“cottage with character”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely cottage, great location to walk to shops, bars and restaurants. Own parking space. Everything you need for an enjoyable stay. Would return again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to review our cottage. So glad you had a fab time. mx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Apr 2017
thank you so much for such an amazing review!!!! The cottage is very hard to describe!!! You really have to experience it and we would love to welcome you back soon. Congratulations to you both
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for taking time to review the cottage. We would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing