We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, quirky cottage near the centre of...”
Perfect place to take off your boots and enjoy something cold at the end of the day!!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Perfect place to take off your boots and enjoy something cold at the end of the day!!!
Quirky, dog friendly retreat! Lounge with flat screen Television
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Perfect place to take off your boots and enjoy something cold at the end of the day!!!
Quirky, dog friendly retreat!
Lounge with flat screen Television
Master bedroom set up with king sized bed
master bedroom set up with twin beds
Master bedroom
Bathroom with electric shower over bath
Bathroom with electric shower over bath
Layout
Kitchen with gas hob, dishwasher, full size fridge/freezer, microwave
Second bedroom with original beams, solar powered velux.  Full of character.
second bedroom with views to the fells
Lounge/kitchen
view from second bedroom
Christmas in 2 The Old Coach House
bedroom lounge area with dressing table.
We absolutely love special occasions!!
captures the serenity of the cottage perfectly - heaven!
So peaceful!!!!
View from master bedroom
Ambleside town centre
The Bridge House Ambleside!
One of many traditional bars - The Golden Rule
Zeferelli's cinema and Jazz bar, wine bar
Compston Road Ambleside
Enjoy a refreshing drink at Zeferreli's and gaze at Wansfell!
St Mary's Church Ambleside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sheila W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, quirky cottage near the centre of Ambleside”
Reviewed 29 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

A very well equipped dog friendly cottage, in a great location with shops and walks on the doorstep. Having it's own parking space is an added bonus.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for reviewing our cottage! It has an amazing central location in Ambleside x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Reviewed 8 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our cottage. Glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back. Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
harvey10...
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent dog friendly cottage in central Ambleside”
Reviewed 4 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

What a lovely quirky cottage, just back from a 4 night stay with our young dog. Cottage is in central Ambleside with parking for 1 car, cottage is well equipped and always lovely and cosy to come back to after a walk. We would definitely recommend a stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2018
Many thanks for taking the time to review the cottage. Glad you had a super time in the snow!!! Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeleine...
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“5* town centre property!”
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Just returned from a 5* break in Ambleside.
What a house! Everything was top-notch. Superb decor, high quality furnishings and kitchen equipment. Absolutely spotless, as if you are the first tenants. I could not find fault with anything (not that I’m the sort of person to go looking!). We had the master mezzanine split into 2 beds for myself and my son and another family member in the small double (which would be very tight if you were to use it for 2 adults). Good use of sky lights, as there’s little opportunity for natural light downstairs due to the position of the house, but the clever architecture inside makes up for it.
To have off street parking in the centre of Ambleside is a real bonus and of course being so central it’s an easy walk to the pubs, restaurants and shops. We were a bit snowed in on our first day due to the road conditions, but because of the cottage’s location it hardly mattered as we could explore the town so easily on foot.
This property could not be beaten, I’d say, and would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our cottage. These reviews are invaluable to guests when there is so much choice of accommodation in the Lake District. Hope to see you again. Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bevcherry
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New Years Celebrations - Prefect”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Stayed here again for the 3rd time and fantastic as always (hence the 3rd time) and have booked again for September. The place was decorated for Christmas tree up and lights it was lovely, we stayed for the New years weekend and Ambleside was buzzing. Accommodation is of very high standard compared to other properties we have seen in Ambleside, Just a few minutes away from all the action in Ambleside and Bus stop just outside you can park your vehicle outside and never have to touch it again. The property is dog friendly but you would not know this when staying, our little pooch does come with us and we always cover everything. Ambleside is very dog friendly most shops will allow them in and the same with restaurants and pubs there are a selected few that won't allow it dogs in but more places allow it than not. Lots of great walks right off the door step and lost of lovely restaurants, recommend Shielas Cottage, Lucys on a plate, the Stamp House if you feeling flush is very very nice. And I must say Margaret the owner is lovely and always on hand if you need her.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our cottage! Ambleside is amazing over Christmas and New Year. Look forward to seeing you in September!!! Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwinn12
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 6 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We booked for a 4 night stay, i couldn't fault the nice decor and finishing touches provided and everything was catered for. It is an ideal location for the centre of ambleside and reaching other places such as Windermere, Grasmere and Keswick. However we found the level of traffic noise from the busy road in front of the property to be unrelenting causing a sleepless night on our first evening resulting in us buying earplugs for the remainder of our stay. The living space is also limited for natural light causing it to feel dark and slightly claustrophobic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2018
thank you for taking the time to review our cottage. The cottage is in an amazing location in central Ambleside but unfortunately is on the main road so apologies for traffic noise. Also the cottage is set into the hillside and the most has been made of the natural light and most guests find this privacy enhances the quirkiness of the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael l
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent quality cottage - very welcoming”
Reviewed 21 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Located within a few minutes walk of the centre of Ambleside you could not park any closer to the front door! The car rested for a few days and we walked everywhere with our two small dogs. We found the cottage very welcoming and well equipped. We are planning to stay again soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our cottage. We wish you a very merry Christmas and would love to welcome you back next year xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing