We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy of so many excellent reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crow How Country Guest House
Ranked #10 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My trip advisor history shows that I am pretty positive in my assessement of hotels I have visited. My reason for this is unlike some harsh critics, I want to have a good time and where possible see the best in places rather than the worst. Once again a good browse of trip advisor and ignoring picky comments has resullted in another good find.

Crow How House is an excellent standard bed and breakfast hotel. It is secluded but within walking distance of Ambleside and easy driving distance to Lake Windermere, Keswick, Buttermere and many other of the beautiful areas in the lakes. The owner John is friendly and helpful and will take time to answer any queries you have about the area. There is free wifi and access to a desktop computer.The room we occupied was very large with a flat screen TV and DVD. The bathroom was also big with a jacuzzi bath, large walkin shower, his and hers sinks. All the windows are modern double glazed with beautiful views from every one of them. The temperature in the hotel was just right, it was spotlessly clean and the food was very good. Our bed was a queen size bed with crisp sheets, soft pillows, and a large throwover.

The farm cows are nearby but if you don't like the smell of country animals perhaps you should stick to town. In any event you get used to it after twenty minutes and the smell isn't always evident anyway. The walk to the road from the hotel is rather dark and uneven so a torch or two is handy to have with you. It also helps when walking the first few hundred yards on the way to Ambleside as the road is quite dark.There is a pavement however and at night there was very little traffic on the road. This is definitely a hotel we would visit again and is worthy of the excellent and very good reviews.

Room Tip: Just ask for the things you like in a room (i.e. queen size bed, jacuzzi bath, walk in shower)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

A lovely country house on the outskirts of Ambleside- a 12 minute walk away- comfortable rooms with en suites and excellent cooked breakfasts. Very helpful owner who was informative and obliging. We would happily return and enjoyed our stay enormously

Room Tip: Room 4 has lovely 4 poster and is spacious and elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

What a great location - we stayed for three nights and wish it was longer. Only a 10 min walk from Ambleside which made it really peaceful. We were in room 9 which is spacious and has a lovely view of the garden and beyond. You can spend hours looking at the birds which are fed every morning. The rooms are really clean and it looks like the bathroom had been updated recently with a good shower. The team are lovely, welcoming and happy to offer advise when asked. There are walk cards in the room which is a nice touch. Breakfast is flexible and you can have any combination you want. Definitely they want to please.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilly_crow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My partner & I stayed here for 5 nights last week in room 3. Wow, what a lovely place to stay. If you're looking for a place to "get away from it all" then come to Crow How. Its incredibly peaceful, luxurious & comfortable rooms. Our bathroom looked brand new with added little luxuries and toiletries. We had a king sized bed which which was so comfy and a lovely window seat to sit and read, drink tea and admire the views. Very welcoming as you arrive and just a ten minute stroll into Ambleside itself for the shops/restaurants. The gardens at Crow How are gorgeous, and lovely for a stroll. I would most definitely return to Crow How and plan to soon. We couldn't fault anything and felt so relaxed here. Most of the rooms are not adjoining so you can't hear your neighbours at all. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. All in all, a wonderful peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leeca69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The Crow How Country House was fantastic and I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in staying in the Lake District. It has a real farm- house feel with gorgeous decor. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the service overall was perfect. Additionally, it is a 10 minute walk from town which is ideal as town is SO BUSY! I am so glad we stayed slightly out of town but not too far away from it at the same time.

The gardens at Crow How are STUNNING! We could have sat in it all day but unfortunately the weather was not great.

I would not hesitate to go back to Crow How and I would highly recommend it to everyone.. it feels like a hotel but at B & B prices!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andree K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed 4 nights at Crow How and found it to be a delightful country guest house.

Our room was excellent with plenty of space, a very comfortable bed and a lovely bathroom.

The facilities in the house were also excellent, particularly the lounge where computer access was available throughout the day. Parking was freely available close to the house.

The breakfast was superb with a lovely variety of options, both hot and cold, which would, I am sure, suit all tastes.

The location was excellent being quiet and scenic yet only a few minutes out of Ambleside.

Would we stay again? Most definitely!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tasabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Just outside Ambleside, hidden away down a country lane within a working farm, this is the perfect sanctuary. We stayed 3 nights bed and breakfast in room 8 which has a very comfortable four poster bed. We could not fault this place. Exceptional standards of comfort and food in an idyllic location. The gardens are a delight and we had the added bonus of witnessing Daisy's (the pet calf) first trip outside the barn on our last morning - a perfect way to end a very pleasant break.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essex_couple26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.7 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#9 of 102 in Ambleside
651 reviews
0.7 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 102 in Ambleside
1,218 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nanny Brow
Nanny Brow
#12 of 102 in Ambleside
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crow How Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crow How Country Guest House

Address: Rydal Road, Ambleside LA22 9PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £94 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crow How Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a stunning rural setting in the historic Rydal Valley amidst the fells, this grand Victorian building was built as a farm house in 1848 from the stones of ancient Rydal Hall, before being converted into a Country Guest House in the early 1930's. Set in our own 2 acre gardens Crow How has been sympathetically renovated to provide you with a perfect base to explore the beautiful Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crow How Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crow How Country House Hotel Ambleside
Crow How Country Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing