We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B@B in Ambleside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park House Guest House
Ranked #61 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We only stayed overnight at this guest house by chance, but what a fortunate decision it turned out to be. Paul and Diane are the perfect 'mine hosts'. They gave us a wonderful welcome, and we have never been in a cleaner en suite room in either B@B, hotel or cruise ship, and we have been on a few! The breakfast choice was equal to any 4 star hotel, and it was perfectly cooked and presented.
Although there was no immediate parking, Paul and Diane provide spaces close by the guest house. I would recommend this little gem.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cora63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Park House Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2011

This is a lovely guest house in the heart of ambleside. The owners were very welcoming, and the room we were given was lovely - spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. The free parking was a real bonus given how limited this in in Ambleside, and best of all the breakfast was fab! Real attention to detail. Would definately go again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ambeer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We have just returned from a most enjoyable stay. Paul welcomed warmly us and helped with our luggage.
Our room overlooked the park and even though it faced quite a busy road we were not disturbed at all.
The room was very tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean, the bathroom was very nicely equipped.
Breakfast was served in a very attractive room also overlooking the park. The food was really excellent!
SG Leicestershire

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMG105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

the warm friendly helpful greeting was a taster of what was to come .Paul and Diane were very helpful in telling us the best places to eat out and where to go for a drink . The hotel itself was spotless throughout and the rooms were a great size with a beautiful en suite shower and toilet and the bed was of a very good quality. The room we stayed in had a view over the fells and was just another bonus of our all too brief stay at the park house plus a great breakfast.We will definately be going back again its a definate ten out of ten

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights during a 2-week driving holiday around the UK, and was very disappointed with the location. It is located on a main road through Ambleside, so there was constant traffic noise, which woke us up in the morning. We live in London, so are very used to noise!

Also, there was free parking, but it was quite a distance from the guesthouse itself - not ideal if you have lots of luggage and don't want to leave it all in the car. On their website they state that 'there is private parking for all guests', which is a little misleading given the distance from the guesthouse itself.

The room was quite small for a double ensuite, although clean and modern. Breakfast was good, but I would expect that for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireyw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed at Park House over the New Year weekend, it was a last minute booking and we were lucky to get in anywhere. The B&B was very good our room was modern, spotlessly clean and nicely decorated (recently we were told) our only small complaint was the bathroom was small with a tiny cloakroom washbasin but we managed for two nights. Also being on the top floor the water pressure in the shower wasn't brilliant.
Breakfast was lovely,I had the smoked salmon and scrambled egg - nice choices with plenty of fresh coffee. Parking was just the other side of the park in a private space - not far to walk.
The owner was very pleasant and attentive and helpful with luggage etc.
I wouldnt hesitate stopping here again and also recommending to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We had a few days at Park House when the Ambleside Christmas lights were switched on at the end of November. We had a lovely time and the added bonus was the effort the whole town made with the lantern parade and fireworks – it definitely put us in the Christmas mood.

Park House itself is a lovely B&B; we were on the top floor and had a large, comfortable, modern room overlooking the putting green/park. Breakfast was delicious and definitely set you up for the day. The owners were very attentive and couldn’t do enough for us. Car parking is available and is on a small private road at the opposite side of the putting green. This means you have to drop off your baggage and then go round the one way system to park up, but this isn’t a major issue. One slight negative is the shower we had; not very powerful at all, so don’t expect too much when you return from a long walk and want a thorough dowsing! Other than that, no complaints at all.

Park House overlooks the putting green in Ambleside, which means it is just a very short walk up the street to the shops, restaurants and pubs. For eats, we tried Lucy’s tapas bar one night which was really nice although we started off with ‘just a couple’ of dishes and ended up with more than we really needed (eyes bigger than our bellys!!). Another night we tried the White Lion which was extremely popular; try a little later than tea time if you want a table.

Pub wise The Golden Rule and The Unicorn at the far end of town, uphill from Park House, were for us the better places as they are more of our idea of Lakeland pubs. The ones in the centre were more of hotel bars, although still nice enough to drink in.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_and_Linz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.0 mi away
Claremont House Guest House
Claremont House Guest House
#32 of 103 in Ambleside
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melrose Guesthouse
Melrose Guesthouse
#14 of 103 in Ambleside
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#54 of 103 in Ambleside
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Smallwood House Hotel
Smallwood House Hotel
#57 of 103 in Ambleside
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#9 of 103 in Ambleside
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Cambridge Villas
3 Cambridge Villas
#62 of 103 in Ambleside
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Guest House

Address: Park House Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £75 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Park House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park House Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing