We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B - would definately recommend it !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park House Guest House
Ranked #61 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great B&B - would definately recommend it !”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This is a great B&B in the heart of the Lake District. We loved everything about it, from the warm welcome and very helpful hosts right through to the modern decor and amazing breakfasts.
This B&B is extremely clean (the bathroom was spotless) and Paul (the host) couldn't do enough for us. I have to say again that the breakfasts were very good !!

The building sits opposite a recreation area where you can play bowls, mini golf and tennis. Our room was at the front of the building so we could hear the buzz from outside which was great. There is quite a bit of traffic outside however, that didn't bother us and it dies down about 7pm so not noisy at night. There are rooms at the rear of the building though and I like the fact you can state which room you want to book on the B&B website.

Overall one of the best places we've stayed and would def go back again.

Room Tip: Use the website or speak to them on the phone - they are very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lnzp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    32
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
12
120
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The room is very clean & cosy. Breakfast is very nice. Excellent location @ Ambleside.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank typical_uranian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed for 4 nights. The room was small but was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good with several options. The owner was very helpful when asked for information. This is a very good base from which to explore the district and we hiked every day. The only downside was the lack of a common sitting room. Our room was too small to spend much time in and one day when it rained heavily we spent most of our time in restaurants, cafe's and local attractions. I would recommend this B&B though I would look for one with a common room for guests the next time.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpaul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed for the weekend and had a brilliant time. Diane and Paul were warming and welcoming even with the rain. Room was lovely, clean and relaxing. The food in the morning was good enough that I went for seconds. We definately look forward to going back there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemmab123001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Service was excellent, room was cleaned and tidied everyday, breakfast choice was tremendous and all cooked to order. En-suite was very clean and well appointed with walk in shower and towels were changed every two days
It is a victorian style house that has been very well converted to a very high standard throughout and overlooks the local park. Dedicated parking a short walk from the guest house which is in the town centre.
Ambleside is very central to the lake district so is a good place to stay to reach all areas.
There are plenty of shops catering for those interested in fell walking with local weather conditions on the fells published in their windows.
Ambleside is surrounded by the fells so walks can start in any direction.
The local dry wall building system is used extensively as the style for the buildings and looks so natural. My wife and I could not find anything about Ambleside that we didn't like.

Room Tip: Front rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrsnrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

I have stayed with Paul and Diane on several occassions over the past year or so. I love coming and spending time in Ambleside and now I've found Park House it's the icing on the cake! The cleanliness and quality of the accomadation is second to none...........add to this an excelent, hearty breakfast and you have the perfect base to enjoy the lakes. I have stayed in many of the top hotels in the world and I put the Park house up in my top ten favorite places to stay...................I highly reccomend you try it out for yourself, enjoy :-)
John Steenson

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John1961017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeBrooks, Owner at Park House Guest House, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thanks John for your lovely review, it was nice to see you again this weekend too.

Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, Leics
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We have recently returned from a most idyllic week-end in Cumbria where we had the good fortune of staying at Park House Guest House in Ambleside.
What a little gem Park House is ! Located in the heart of Ambleside, Park House offers designated parking just a short stroll away. On arrival we parked directly outside Park House to unload our bags and Paul then kindly escorted us to our allocated parking spot.
The accommodation is reflective of the high standards delivered by owners Paul & Diane. Our room was tastefully decorated in a contemporary style as was the modern and beautifully furnished bathroom. All areas of the accommodation were pristine and the standard of housekeeping is a testament to the sterling service offered by Paul & Diane.
Breakfast was delightful! The quality of cuisine and presentation were excellent and we much enjoyed and appreciated a hearty breakfast before setting out for our sightseeing trips.
Paul proved to be a most convivial and informative host and exceptionally knowledgeable in respect of local places of interest, recommended walks, and places to eat.
Park House Guest House is a credit to Paul & Diane, and Paul and Diane are a credit to the Hospitality industry.

Jules & Malc

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wesves4142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeBrooks, Owner at Park House Guest House, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thanks for your comment, it was nice to see you both again and we look forward to your next visit, its nice to know we are doing something right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
0.1 mi away
Melrose Guesthouse
Melrose Guesthouse
#12 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Cambridge Villas
3 Cambridge Villas
#60 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Norwood House
Norwood House
#43 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#8 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#42 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Guest House

Property: Park House Guest House
Address: Park House Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Park House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park House Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing