We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park House Guest House
Ranked #61 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I have very mixed feelings about this b&b. We were greeted by the lady owner, Dianne, she seemed very muddled, did not offer to help us with our bags. Her partner is however very attentive and makes you feel very welcome. The breakfast was OK, however not consistent, one day it came with black pudding the other it did not. We were sat next to another couple who were staying at the B&B and it was very uncomfortable as we were right next to them! The room was small but cosy however the shower was ridiculously small, and don't expect to feel clean whilst you are there because the water pressure is almost non existent.

I have also noticed that Dianne leaves rather rude comments when she doesn't get the reviews she thinks she should just because you have a silver award it doesn't make your b&b perfect and it certainly does not mean you are a welcoming hostess!

Was fairly clean in the b&b but the bathroom floor and sink were dirty. It seems a shame really that this lady cant accept anything less than a perfect review.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    32
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
12
120
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We have just recently spent 3 days at this friendly B&B. Our room was quiet, comfortable and as everyone else already wrote several times, very clean. The selection for breakfast was good but it would have been nice to have some sweeter options too such as croissant or brioche. However, this is just a personal preference, everything we had was delicious. It is worth mentioning that the building is situated right next to a one-way system road with double yellow lines and no private or public parking in the vicinity of the building. We would recommend to call the owners a few minutes before arrival so they can get the keys ready for the lock for the private parking place which is situated on the other side of the bowling green just a few minutes walk away from the B&B. It is actually very convenient not to have any car parking nearby as one cannot hear the slamming of the car doors at any time. We would certainly recommend this B&B if you would like to stay in Ambleside.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for room No1 (en-siutte with shower) as it is facing to the side of the building and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_EB107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Chose Park House largely due to the reviews on here; but think next time would choose to pay more for either hotel or self-catering. A B&B has to be pretty special - perhaps boutique! - to get a rave review from me. Positives of Park House are it is spotlessly clean, the hosts are friendly, and the young man who served at breakfast very pleasant and polite. Breakfast is ok (although a very narrow half hour window for it!). The bread could be better (home made even?!?) and I am never a fan of sauce sachets - use bottles, it looks nicer, is easier and better for the environment! Fresh grapefruit would be nicer than tinned, tables would be nicer with tablecloths on. Oh and the strawberry (?) plug in air freshener in the hallway was rather sickly smelling. The room (4) was tiny; closet doors did not close properly and the shower room was tiny; could barely turn around in there! Water pressure was non-existent, although the hosts did acknowledge this and offered a £10 discount on the stay to their credit. One last comment - the location on a corner of the main route into Ambleside meant it was rather noisy with traffic noise - not really an 'escape to the country'! Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckahodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely b&b that is right in the centre of Ambleside. The breakfast was delicious and suitable for all palates and appetites. The house was sparklingly clean throughout. The hosts were friendly and helpful without being "in your face." My single room was small but comfortable and well-appointed. I really recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mardyfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warkwickshire
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2012

we have just got back from a long weekend stay at the park house guest house ambleside and we must say what a fantastic place too stay.The hosts were very helpfull and welcomeing the breakfast is first class the rooms are spotless it is by far one of the best guest house we have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank covscottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights in February 2012 and will definitely be back!

The rooms look exactly as they do in the pictures on the website; the B&B is perfectly situated in Ambleside close to everything you could want. There are drink making facilities in the rooms, towels, hair dryer, alarm clock, dressing gowns – everything you could want. There is ample storage space, I have never stayed somewhere with so much!

The breakfasts are nice the B&B is a great value for money! The car park is close to the B&B despite other comments on here of it being a bit of a walk.

The only thing I would suggest is that the details of the rooms when booking on-line through their website needs to be slightly changed. For instance not all of the rooms have baths so maybe it should be clearer about what is in the room you are booking. We had a shower in ours and the bathroom was small, this obviously can’t be helped but it would make a great wet room rather than having a shower cubicle in it.

Perfect stay, great food, hosts and amazing B&B – will rebook to go back in May!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a bath! Price is the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTSRMedway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My Wife and I have just returned from Ambleside and we stayed for 2 nights at the Park House Guest House, it is an immaculate little guest house very near to the centre of Ambleside. The hosts were very helpfull and the breakfasts were out of this world, I have to mention just a couple of things though we stayed in room 5 top floor at the front and the shower was terrible, the water was barely a trickle, my only other fault with the guest house was breakfast 8.30am till 9am Saturday and Sunday so there's no lie in and you have to leave the room by 10am on the day of departure!
The price for the guest house is excellent and we would return but it would be nice if you pushed the timing back for breakfast and departure!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.4 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#20 of 103 in Ambleside
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Cambridge Villas
3 Cambridge Villas
#63 of 103 in Ambleside
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Claremont House Guest House
Claremont House Guest House
#25 of 103 in Ambleside
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#48 of 103 in Ambleside
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melrose Guesthouse
Melrose Guesthouse
#13 of 103 in Ambleside
503 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#2 of 103 in Ambleside
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Guest House

Property: Park House Guest House
Address: Park House Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Park House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park House Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing