We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and spotless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park House Guest House
Ranked #62 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Well located and spotless”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a lovely stay at Park House - rooms were small but modern and very clean. Breakfast selection very good and well cooked.
Perfect location for all Ambleside restaurants, shops etc. Our room had a great view over the park and of the hills.
Was good to have allocated parking which was a short walk away.

All in all we were well looked after here, would recommend and stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    32
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
12
120
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is the first time we have stayed at this hotel and I'm sure it will not be the last. From the friendly welcome to the lovely clean and comfortable room everything is geared to an enjoyable stay. Fabulous breakfasts and free parking (although this is situated a short walk form the hotel it is not a problem). I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here for the second time within a year and again the room was clean, comfy and has everything you could possibly need for your stay.
The attention to detail is exceptional and the service from the owners makes your stay the most enjoyable, nothing is too much trouble.
The breakfast needs a particular special mention as you won't get one better anywhere else.
Fab stay, five star and will be returning in the future. Thank you for your hospitality .

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the house have a lovely view over the park and look out towards the fells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I was in a single room which was small but had everything that I needed. I shared a bathroom with the occupier of the other single room but we didn't encounter each other and the facilities are great. The view from my room at the front of the house was over the park and onto the hills in the distance. Great breakfast, free parking and nothing was too much trouble for Paul and Diane. My first visit to Ambleside and a great location for the kind of walking I like - not too challenging. Plenty to do in the town - all in all a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights for the first time. The guest house is run by a very lovely and friendly couple Mr and Mrs Brooks,who have made a lot effort into ensuring the house and rooms are immaculate. The parking is a short walk away but this is absolutely fine as the guest house is situated on the one-way system.
Breakfast both mornings was superb and with excellent service. The food was top quality, I can't say I've ever experienced such attentive service at any other guest house I've used!
The room we stayed in, was very smart and had everything we needed. I must say the stay was excellent value for money and I'm sure we will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

General: This guest house is conveniently located in the town centre with good views over the recreation ground to Loughrigg Fell. Buses from Keswick and Windermere stop nearby. The building is attractively faced in local slate. Décor is nice without being twee and it's spotlessly clean. Everything is very well planned and organised and I didn't want for anything. Helpful and friendly hosts.
Booking: Straightforward online booking, pay 50% deposit in advance (tip: use debit card to avoid credit card surcharge).
Room: I had a single room which was very small but well equipped. Provided one is tidy there's no problem. Instead of an en-suite bathroom the two single room guests share use of a very nice bathroom and adjacent W.C. Free wifi worked well and is beautifully simple compared to some 4* hotels convoluted wifi log-in processes.
Breakfast: Good choice of tinned fruit, cereal and then appetising traditional cooked breakfasts with option of smoked salmon and scrambled egg.
Overall: Off season I paid £35 per night B&B. Brilliant value for excellent B&B.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PompeyMike56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was our first visit to Ambleside, with so many places to stay I did a lot of research, but I wasn't disappointed! Park House was clean, well looked after and modern. The bed was comfy and the room was perfect with ample tea and coffee. Paul was very friendly and happy to offer advice on walks etc. The breakfast was great, large portions and lots of choice.
Overall, a perfect stay in a perfect B&B!
Will definitely stay here again on our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.4 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#19 of 103 in Ambleside
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Cambridge Villas
3 Cambridge Villas
#63 of 103 in Ambleside
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#48 of 103 in Ambleside
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melrose Guesthouse
Melrose Guesthouse
#15 of 103 in Ambleside
504 reviews
0.0 mi away
Claremont House Guest House
Claremont House Guest House
#27 of 103 in Ambleside
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Guest House

Property: Park House Guest House
Address: Park House Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Park House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park House Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing