We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent position overlooking the park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park House Guest House
Ranked #61 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent position overlooking the park”
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We had a few days at Park House when the Ambleside Christmas lights were switched on at the end of November. We had a lovely time and the added bonus was the effort the whole town made with the lantern parade and fireworks – it definitely put us in the Christmas mood.

Park House itself is a lovely B&B; we were on the top floor and had a large, comfortable, modern room overlooking the putting green/park. Breakfast was delicious and definitely set you up for the day. The owners were very attentive and couldn’t do enough for us. Car parking is available and is on a small private road at the opposite side of the putting green. This means you have to drop off your baggage and then go round the one way system to park up, but this isn’t a major issue. One slight negative is the shower we had; not very powerful at all, so don’t expect too much when you return from a long walk and want a thorough dowsing! Other than that, no complaints at all.

Park House overlooks the putting green in Ambleside, which means it is just a very short walk up the street to the shops, restaurants and pubs. For eats, we tried Lucy’s tapas bar one night which was really nice although we started off with ‘just a couple’ of dishes and ended up with more than we really needed (eyes bigger than our bellys!!). Another night we tried the White Lion which was extremely popular; try a little later than tea time if you want a table.

Pub wise The Golden Rule and The Unicorn at the far end of town, uphill from Park House, were for us the better places as they are more of our idea of Lakeland pubs. The ones in the centre were more of hotel bars, although still nice enough to drink in.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_and_Linz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    32
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
12
120
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

We were lucky enough to make it to the Lakes this weekend, and found Park house to be warm, comfortable and welcoming after a day out walking. Our room was contemporary, with a really comfortable bed and an immaculate ensuite bathroom. We found breakfast to be of a high standard and a good choice of items was available. The availabilty of free parking is always a bonus in the Lakes. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc101scarboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

As regular visitors to ambleside we know the area well and stayed in this B & B last year, the stay was reasonably priced and breakfast was good. We booked for my partner's birthday and were looking forward to going over this week however due to the weather the major roads were shut we were unable to make the trip over in the car. We live in newcastle and would normally travel over the a66 or a69.

When I phoned to see if we could change the booking I was greeted by a rude response, I was told we should drive 300 miles out of the way to the m62 in bad weather to get there. He was completely unwilling to go help an existing customer by rearranging a booking. I was told that it's my own fault and he wasn't willing to do anything! Not what I would have expected from a family run local business. I understand that a deposit is there in case customers don't turn up however we would have just re arranged the booking in exceptional circumstances,

We wont be returning to the b& b but will be finding another in the area as we love the lake
district.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Easily_pleased022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2010

It's always a struggle finding a reasonably priced B&B in Ambleside that offers great service, cleanliness, friendliness and location - the Park House delivers all this. The owners are lovely and couldn't be more accommodating if they tried. Breakfast was lovely and the choice was brilliant. The rooms are extremely clean and modern (rare for many B&B's) and beds are extremely comfortable. I'll be staying there whenever I come back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianandZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

The combination of cleanliness, hospitality, and price, would be hard to better. Even the breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianbosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Just wanted to say thank you for your hospitality during our stay.

The room we had was very comfortable and suited us very well; nicely furnished and good quality bedding and soft furnishings. The breakfasts were great too!

Only downside was lack of water pressure which made for a very weak shower - although this we were told was temporary due to works in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We came to Ambleside for a short break and had a very comfortable stay at Park House. Our room was exceptionally clean and we would definately go back again. Breakfast was lovely and Paul could not have been more helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
0.1 mi away
Melrose Guesthouse
Melrose Guesthouse
#12 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Cambridge Villas
3 Cambridge Villas
#60 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Norwood House
Norwood House
#45 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#8 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#42 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Guest House

Property: Park House Guest House
Address: Park House Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Park House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park House Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing