We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend retreat”

Ditton Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ditton Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 15 Cockermouth B&B and Inns
Farnworth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Fantastic weekend retreat”
Reviewed 24 May 2011

My birthday pressie off my fab children,a weekend away just me & my partner.We would highly recommend Ditton Lodge,The room was spotless and esquisitely furnished, the en suite same standard,the food was lovely with good selection of breakfast.,we were made to feel very welcome nothing was too much trouble.We had a really nice time and wiuld go again

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAKFarnworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
23
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We had a truly fantastic stay. The owners have spared no expense here.We were made very welcome and would recommend Ditton Lodge, Cockermouth to anyone going to this beautiful part of The Lake District.The room was spacious and had a sumptious Queen size bed with luxury bed linen along with an electric blanket.Oak flooring, wi-fi ,fridge,complimentary wine on welcome,fresh milk daily, luxury bathroom towells and toiletries were present. Breakfasts were mouthwatering, with many choices. The location was ideal for strolling into Cockermouth, which has lots of choices when it comes to eating out after a day of following in Wainwright's footsteps.Liked best - everything. Liked least - nothing to dislike! Our room is shown on Ditton Lodge website - take a look it is wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueboyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

What a wonderful welcome we received in this beautiful house! Everything is to the very highest standard, from the bed linen to the breakfast menu.....what a choice! Freshly cooked, beautifully presented and served with a smile every morning.
Alan and Lynne could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable, advising us where to go to see the local sights and even how to get there.
The room is spacious and roomy, with plenty of hanging space and a bed to die for. The best nights sleep we have had for a long time!
We will definitely be going back to visit and recommending it to all our friends. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluelightWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2010

This lovely home spells 'welcome' from the moment you cross the threshold. From the chilled wine in the fridge to the spa toiletries, you feel you are about to be pampered! Lynn and Alan ensure your visit is all it can be, by advising on eateries, places to visit and general local knowledge. Nothing is too much trouble and the breakfasts are beautifully prepared and served. Sitting in the garden on a summer evening listening to the birdsong is one of my best memories. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank przyg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2009

What a hidden treasure this is! Very peaceful and tranquil, wonderful views. Our hosts could not do enough for us and we were extremely spoiled and pampered! One rainy day we returned to our room, only to find extra fluffy blankets and a furry hot water bottle! Our room was beautiful and spotless, very comfortable and cozy. There was an excellent menu for breakfast in a dining room overlooking the well kept garden. We cannot wait to return and have recommended this to everyone we know!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJTRossendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Lovely room and service is fine unless you have anything you are not happy about. After breakfast we had to go through the garage as there were builders outside the room, the builders continued to bang on the roof, not the tranquil setting we hoped for. When we simply asked if it would be the same the following morning as we wanted to lie in on our holiday we were told it a frank and condesending manner that Ditton Lodge is only a B & B not a hotel so we should be leaving the room after breakfast. As we were not checking out that day we hoped to relax and so thought we had the room in the morning. Apparently here if you are only paying for a B&B you can have someone hammering on the roof from 9.30am with no warning. The propriator seemed to think we should expect this and far from appologising was very rude.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AmeliaLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
0.3 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
3.7 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.1 mi away
Graysonside
Graysonside
#1 of 15 in Cockermouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ditton Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ditton Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ditton Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 Papcastle Road, Cockermouth CA13 0JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ditton Lodge Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ditton Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ditton Lodge Bed And Breakfast Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing