We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tandoori trout - you have to try it!”

Spice Club Indian Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 72 Restaurants in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Mwanza Region, Tanzania
Level Contributor
200 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Tandoori trout - you have to try it!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This is a pretty good indian restaurant. The popadoms are the best I have ever had - amazingly thin and crispy, with great taste. The main courses were very good too. I have never come across tandoori trout before but it was simply exquisite. Good service too.

Helpful?
Thank Shedheadabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    116
    41
    21
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Too hot”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Four of us enjoyed an excellent meal at this restaurant, although my Chicken Jalfrezi was much more spicy than I have had in other restaurants.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LauraRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The main course was too oily and way to much of artificial colour. Steamed rice was undercooked.
Bad experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank v A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“When the kids go away”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

With both of our kids on school we ventured out on our own. Went in 7 pm and got table straight away along with our order. I've not always made the right choice before but last night I picked the chicken Tikka Bhuna and it was excellent . Good pint of lager and a garlic nan finished things off nice. A pleasant evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Too much salt”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The prawn karai looked as though it was a mutant from sellafield, I got the lamb very salty. Friends got what they thought to be spicy and it was very bland. We will not be going again

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariefitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Club Indian Restaurant also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Been to Spice Club Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing