We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Gift” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor House Hotel Restaurant

Manor House Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 71 Restaurants in Cockermouth
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Wedding Gift”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We received a meal voucher for the Manor House recently. As we had not been for some years I was undecided about what to expect - but what a surprise. The food was delicious and plentiful. in fact after the starter I wondered if I would be able to complete the meal, but no problem as it was so good. The assiette of sweets was a delight. I will certainly be returning and also recommending to friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HazelH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Enjoyed more than I expected!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

As a real ale fan I was not looking forward to a formal meal here but an email beforehand ensured a choice of locally brewed bottled ales, although we had to stop them tipping sediment of bottled conditioned beers into the glasses! The food was wonderful and I was so glad I had gone after all!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CdeCCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleator moor
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“mothers day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

yet again myself and family booked the manor house in cockermouth for mothers day dinner it was yet again excellent real good food clean and the staff is very helpfull give yourself a pat on the back and we will be coming back again

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gedscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

Having not been for a while, my husband and I decided to treat ourselves. And what a treat, could not fault a thing. The risotto is the best I've tasted. My husband had the mushrooms which were lovely. Then we both had the fillet steak which was cooked to perfection. The manor house surprise for dessert is a must, so good! Even the wine, Rioja, was lovely. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The decor could do with a revamp. We have probably tried must of the other restaurants in Cockermouth and for the quality of food this should definately be number 1!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ddjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simply The Best In Town By A Mile.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Have dined here many many times, The Manor House is the only place in town where one is certain to be completely satisfied with the quality, delivery and presentation of the food.

This is a family owned and run business and it shows, Eddie cooks, Carol Anne is front of house,ably assisted by Eddies Mum, together a great team.

Have also stayed (post New Years Eve) and the quality of the rooms/breakfast is superlative, great attention to detail, nothing overlooked, the hallmark of very professional people with exceedingly high standards

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertBTopliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manor House Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Been to Manor House Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing