We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable night but”
Review of The Ship

The Ship
Ranked #26 of 73 Restaurants in Cockermouth
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
cumbria
Level Contributor
101 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“enjoyable night but”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

went to the ship with a group of girls, nice interior plenty of space food good but got far to much,some might think this isn't something to complain about ,but we sent back quite a bit and I would rather have less and reduce the price,scampi and chips £11.95 I have paid this in a 4 5 star hotel but not in a pub.service ok .a bit more thought in portion size reduce price and then maybe we would have had a sweet and stayed longer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    60
    36
    26
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Stuffed!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Plenty of space and very nice interior. The food is amazing and good servings, quickly served too! Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serignan Plage
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor service, rude, childish, but good food”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have never had such a bad experience from returning what can only be described as a horrible glass of wine!

We did however have a fantastic meal!

We were offered no deserts, no coffee's, were not asked if we enjoyed the meal so in the end we had to get up and go to the bar to pay where we were insulted again by the barman and the chef had to come out and ask him to leave.

The worst customer service i have ever experienced!

Would not recommend as ruined the whole evening!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Topstar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, good value!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Friendly pub with a nice atmosphere. Food was great, portions are sized very generously. Definitely get your money's worth. Good service. Would definitely recommend - great!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1989bex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You won't go hungry here!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I last visited in a party of 4, my parents live close by so I try to visit every time I go to Cumbria. Every meal at the table was giant. You defiantly don't go hungry here. The prices and reasonable especially for the size of the dishes. Everything is well-presented and beautifully cooked. I got a burger from the specials board followed by chocolate fudge cake, and afterwards I needed a lie down to recover.

Their drinks menu has changed (for the better) since I last visited. Well kept beer and lager. They've got a big car park but it is worth calling ahead, as they're normally fully booked.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Embleton, Cockermouth
 

Been to The Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing