We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really something special”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Front Room

The Front Room
Ranked #26 of 73 Restaurants in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Telephone Number:- 01900 826655
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Really something special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I recommend this place very highly. It's a small room with only about half a dozen tables, but the owners take a lot of care to prepare really excellent food. There is a good selection of things on the printed menu, and a specials board which is always tempting. Over the years I've had spaghetti, aubergine bake, vegetable hotpot and lasagne. The antipasti starter is excellent, but be careful it doesn't fill you up too much before the main course. For dessert I can't see past the cappuccino trifle, which is a delight. The owners are very friendly, and will give you a guitar serenade if you're lucky. You owe it to yourself to visit this restaurant. Put it on your bucket list. I hope to be back there again very soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    24
    3
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Be it for a breakfast or a meal excellent service with a freindly atmosphere. the cakes are great

We had a fantastic brunch at the Front room with a spanish omlette better than I had ever tasted. My family liked it very much. It was served with a spicy tinge along with salad which was very authentic.

For dessert we had a beautiful home-made tiramisu and cake We were very well looked after. Everyone was accommodated . The atmosphere was extremely warm and welcoming. A big thank you Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aliveni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We had a fantastic Italian Evening at the Front room with a lasagne better than I had ever tasted. Many people in our party commented on how delicious it was. It was served with home-made garlic bread and a rocket side salad which was very authentic. For dessert we had a beautiful home-made tiramisu. We were very well looked after. Everyone was accommodated including those with food allergies. The atmosphere was extremely warm and welcoming and the guitar entertainment was very well-received. A big thank you to our hosts who made the evening lots of fun. Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daffodil4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Visited here 22nd November and had a lovely meal. Table is yours for the night. Nothing was too much trouble and I couldn't fault the food at all. Even serenade by the owner when he got his guitar out and strummed a few songs. In fact my friend and I were last to leave. Give it a go....you won't be disappointed. Will go again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Inthelakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly and warm welcome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I found this restaurant by chance on our way home. The staff were very friendly and service was good. Our starters were lovely I had the Greek Salad and my husband had mackerel pâté, both were very good. For main course I had stiffado which although nice was a bit bland, it was quite different from any stiffado I've had before, so a bit disappointing. The mash was very lumpy. My husband had chicken and chorizo, which was a lot tastier. Overall, though we thought it was a nice cosy restaurant.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Front Room also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Been to The Front Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing