We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Quiet, Cosy, Friendly, All relevant descriptions to apply to this Restraunt”
Review of The Front Room

The Front Room
Ranked #28 of 72 Restaurants in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Telephone Number:- 01900 826655
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice, Quiet, Cosy, Friendly, All relevant descriptions to apply to this Restraunt”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The menu is varied, the cooking is without complaint, mine host is not overpowering in what is without doubt a smaller venue. More than one meal has been enjoyed here, and though its always best to book, you may be lucky if you turn up on the night, but don't count on it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveTat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    24
    3
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Worth a visit if your in Cockermouth.”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Ticked all the stars as I could not find a fault with the place. It is what it is and does it well. Food was good, service excellent and the small selection of drinks was adequate.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Small, friendly restaurant with very well cooked and presented food. Hard to resist 3 courses! A gem!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amumwhocares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Cumbria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“another excellent evening”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We have just celebrated my husbands birthday with a fab meal in the Front Room. As ever, the hospitality was excellent, food was lovely and all finished off with Alan playing guitar. I should really discourage others from dining here in case I can't get a table !!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tottycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Really something special”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I recommend this place very highly. It's a small room with only about half a dozen tables, but the owners take a lot of care to prepare really excellent food. There is a good selection of things on the printed menu, and a specials board which is always tempting. Over the years I've had spaghetti, aubergine bake, vegetable hotpot and lasagne. The antipasti starter is excellent, but be careful it doesn't fill you up too much before the main course. For dessert I can't see past the cappuccino trifle, which is a delight. The owners are very friendly, and will give you a guitar serenade if you're lucky. You owe it to yourself to visit this restaurant. Put it on your bucket list. I hope to be back there again very soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Front Room also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Been to The Front Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing