We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for a night away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Allerdale Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ideal for a night away!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We decided to have an overnight break in the lakes recently. We managed to get a room in this hotel at short notice and we weren't disappointed. The room we had was spacious and clean. It had been recently refurbished so all the amenities were of a high standard, including free wifi. We had dinner at the hotel because all the local restaurants were full. The meal was average but the service was good. The breakfast on the other hand was excellent. Parking was a tricky, although the bays outside the hotel are free in the evening and on Sundays. Overall would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidborthwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    85
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
33
129
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stopped here for two nights in August and really enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable and well equipped and the staff very welcoming and helpful. There is a great selection of food for breakfast and quality is excellent. We ate in Carlins Bistro each evening where the high standard was maintained. Will certainly stay again. As a tip ring the hotel direct as they will always quote a better price than online.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ContourMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

The staff at this hotel are very attentive to your needs and are always checking you are ok.
The decor is very fitting for the quaint village and the character of the rooms is wonderful.

This is a dog friendly hotel and nothing appears too much for the staff or owners.

This Hotel has a warm and friendly atmosphere and we had two peaceful nights sleep after spending the day out walking.

The highlight of this hotel is the food!!!!

The menu was wonderful and great value. But what I will say is you can always judge a restaurant by the quality of the Steak. And the Steak here is amazing. Great service and quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We arrived at the Allerdale Court Hotel on Saturday Afternoon, after visiting, Silloth, Maryport and Whitehaven first.When we arrived we were shown up to our room and advised about the parking facilities. I booked the previous Tuesday the executive room, which was on the 2nd Floor overlooking the street. The room was lovely and spacious. We parked on the pay and display for a couple of hours and then at 5.30 I moved the car and parked outside the hotel, which had free parking from Saturday 6p.m. until Monday morning.
We had a walk round Cockermouth which has a lot of individual shops rather than chain stores. There was plenty of choice for eating and drinking.

Breakfast was served in the hotels bistro, with a large choice of cereals, fruit, juices, which you served yourself with and then there was a cooked breakfast menu served to you at your table along with Tea, Coffee and Toast.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. All in All a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: For the extra cost I would choose the executive room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as a base for a party at the Saints Room & the location was excellent.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a really friendly receptionist who even offered to make us toast when we mentioned we were starving!

The room & ensuite were spacious & very clean & modern.

Breakfast was hearty with great service.

Would definitely recommend & would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coldwellk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

we booked this hotel last minute as a getaway for our wedding anniversary. Having never been to the lake district area we didnt know where to stay or where to go but we decided on this hotel as it looked pleasant. The staff were very helpful (we had struggled finding the hotel as the sat nav brought us in the back way and the market was on in the street) and advised us where to park and how the parking in the area worked.

The rooms were really nice and the staff had also gone to the time and effort to make a swan in the bathroom out of one of the towels - nice touch. The Bistro / restaurant was lovely and I couldn't fault the food or the service, even though it was a Saturday night and the place was absolutely packed. I would recommend anyone staying in this hotel to try the Bistro / restaurant for a meal at least once. The breakfast covered pretty much every base, cereals, juices, hot drinks, cooked breakfasts you name it, they had it.

The only downside is that the hotel doesnt have a car park and the whole issue around paying up to a certain time could get annoying if planning a long weekend. To be fair though we have already decided that at some stage we will already go back to this hotel.

we liked the place that much the in-laws booked for a weekend and even managed to end up in the same room as us!!! :o)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is a gem of a hotel. The staff are super-friendly, the rooms are great, the breakfast is brilliant, and it's excellent value for money. The food in the bistro was first class and the bar serves a perfect pint. I've stayed in lots of hotels, home and abroad, and this one is one of the best. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deckboy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davey2010, Owner at The Allerdale Court Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Many thanks for you lovely review. The team here do try hard to ensure all our guests leave us happy and satisfied with our Hotel and service. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
0.4 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
3.2 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
24.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Allerdale Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Allerdale Court Hotel

Property: The Allerdale Court Hotel
Address: 18-20 Market Place, Cockermouth CA13 9NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#1 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Allerdale Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Allerdale Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Allerdale Court Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing