We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I booked this hotel for my Son and new Daughter-in-Law after their wedding in July. I was intially worried as I had not been to the hotel myself, but after their trip I hope to be able to go in the new year. Here's my son's comments: "The place was lovely, we loved the room, the view, the peacocks and telly were all fantastic. Food was fantastic and very generous portions, too". What more can I say? Lovely - thank you for making their honeymoon special.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    102
    32
    12
    4
See reviews for
35
172
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

this hotel for lunch was awesome my partner and i took my brother and mother and daughter for lunch on boxing day the service was spot on the atmosphere was great and the meal was awesome it was well worth the price and we are going back hoping to book for my mothers [98th] birthday end of jan 2012 the scenery was lovely the peacocks even showed up in the grounds for a while i would recomend this hotel for overnight stays or just for dinner [ photo,s to follow soon ]

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank she61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2011

we had our wedding reception here 25 years ago and came back for silver wedding staff brilliant and where even given cakes baked by owners yong daughter i think views as good as i remember room great and food excellent thank you

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2011

we have just spent a few days for our golden wedding and it was lovely it has an
excellent standard wonderful food and a friendly homely atmosphere many thanks to the manager and staff cannot wait to return joyce and keith duckworth

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joycekeith d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here 18/19th July due to other half playing golf nearby.We had a great time the hotel grounds are lovely with peacocks wandering around.The room we had was large with a comfy bed,the bathroom was nice and clean and had shampoo.We had our evening meals here and can recommend the chowder in fact all the food was good with large portions and fresh,we found that the price was very good and comparable with town prices. The staff were very nice and helpfull I have already told people about this hotel and hopefully our friends will try it out I know that we will return

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craggs_Hotel, Owner at Broughton Craggs Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you for your very kind review lindy007. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. All the best from the Broughton Craggs team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

A recent week-end stay with friends was all that we had been looking forward to. A warm, friendly hotel, with a beautiful outlook and grounds. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful. The food was good and plentiful , much more than adequate! We were invited to join a private birthday party, which we did and had an excellent time. Many thanks to Jim!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lincimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Broughton Craggs looked so promising: a lovely old building overlooking beautiful grounds. Sadly, neither the interior nor the good were of the same standard.

The hotel, which changed hands a few years ago, relies heavily on weddings for its business, judging by all the photos of smiling newly-weds in the lobby. The decor looks very tired and paint was peeling of both of the doors in our room.

The hotel website boasts that the food offered by the hotel is locally sourced, though it seemed very ordinary to me. The breakfast was certainly big, though most of it appeared to have come out of a packet.

The bar was also very disappointing: glasses of red wine were served from screw-top mini-bottles and there was only one type of (low-grade) port. And to cap it all, the bar closes at 11 p.m. -- even on Saturday nights!

The staff were friendly, but I'm afraid that just not enough, even in this beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kero-kaeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
5.7 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
462 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
291 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#7 of 9 in Cockermouth
194 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broughton Craggs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broughton Craggs Hotel

Property: Broughton Craggs Hotel
Address: Craggs Road | Great Broughton, Cockermouth CA13 0XP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#5 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Broughton Craggs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Broughton Craggs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broughton Craggs Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing