We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant weekend”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I have just spent a brilliant 2 day break at the Broughton Craggs Hotel. The setting is perfect and the food is plentiful. Whilst other reviews have remarked on paint peeling etc I think it adds to the ambiance of a period house, who wants it all plastic and modern? We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franniep57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    106
    33
    12
    4
See reviews for
39
177
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We came here for our Christmas Party in 2011.
The building and the grounds were lovely. There was adequate parking for everyone and the bar staff were very friendly.
No one welcomed us when we arrived at the hotel; we just walked through the front door to a number of happy couples on their wedding day dotted around the walls which was odd.
We asked everyone to arrive at 7.30 for our meal at 8pm. Food started being served at 8.45! and between our starter and main course, there was a 45 minute wait. We were still eating past 10pm!!! There were about 40 of us in total so quite a large party but this was beyond a joke, especially as we had all pre ordered.
We were not impressed with the timings. The food was OK but nothing spectacular and the "disco" could have been better.
I'm afraid I shall not be attending any more social gatherings at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mountain_Moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We have just returned from a visit to this hotel, we booked it through Groupon for £129 per couple for 2 nights including a cream tea. We had a lovely time the hotel is set in a stunning location,, quiet but a good base for touring the Lakes. It has stunning views across the gardens, I would recommend sitting on the swinging chair, looking out onto the valley, a real treat. Yes the hotel could do with a little up-dating, it would greatly benefit from a new carpet in the hall and the staircase, but for the price we paid it was clean, the staff were friendly, the breakfast wonderful, hot and lots of it so we thought we'd got excellent value for money. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

we stayed there recently as part of a special offer and frankly we were both blown away by the quality of the place and especially the food.

the hotel is close enough to cockermouth (2 miles) and Maryport (abou 2 miles also) without being in a busy area, which adds to the peace around the place imo.

the food is simpl stunning, no pub food syle frozen food here it seems.

honestly i cant wait for another opportunity to stay there, i dont often say that about hotels.

dont follow sat nav instrucions at the destination tho, you will end up driving round some very quiet local roads, the hotel is the next left after the instructions advise you to turn left.

Room Tip: we only saw one bedroom and were happ with that, not sure there are any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craggs_Hotel, Owner at Broughton Craggs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for your kind review.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Got 2 nights B&B through Groupon for £149. Hotel is a lovely old house with lovely views over valley. Reception rooms are nice, but dated, with good value simple evening meals available. Bedroom - 15- was good sized if again a little dated, but toilet very tired and in urgent need of upgrading.Paint peeling off walls, grouting faded, old linoleum on floor, shower tubing coils broken and gaping. All clean though. This is a hotel run for pure profit. The towels were threadbare and obviously several seasons old. Mattress lumpy and requires replacing.
Staff friendly, although breakfast a little chaotic with waitress reguarly forgetting who had ordered what - a bit like a comedy sketch with customers keeping her right.Breakfast a little strange in that tea and coffee served from vending machine. No choice of bread for toast, but cooked breakfast was satisfactory.
Enjoyed our stay- but would have complained if we had paid the fuill rate of £287 as it was not worth this.
Frustrating as this could be a much better hotel if some money was spent on it to upgrade. Wedding was held there day we left and so the local communitydo use this hotel - and I think they deserve better facilities than are currently in place.

Room Tip: View over roofs but Peacocks visited in early hours looking for food- which I enjoyed but woudl not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gozo877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craggs_Hotel, Owner at Broughton Craggs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for your review of Broughton Craggs Hotel, I'm sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay.

We are a small family run business, who like many are finding the current economic climate a challenge. However, our upmost priority is to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us.

All of our bathrooms are currently in the process of being re-furbished including those in reception and our function suite.

We are constantly making improvements to the hotel and customer feedback is very important for this.

I hope that you will visit us again in the future to see that we do take note of & action as soon as feasibly possible all constructive critisism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Booked a 2 night stay through Groupon at the hotel. From first stepping through the door the staff were first class. The hotel grounds are beautifully maintained and views are superb. Food is of a very good standard and excellent value. The hotel's full English breakfast was excellent. The bedroom was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The hotel could do with a lick of paint but is kept very clean. We will definitely re-visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigkaren23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craggs_Hotel, Owner at Broughton Craggs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for your very kind review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The staff were all friendly and helpfull and very accomodating, allowing us to lock up our bikes in an office.
Breakfast was piping hot and very tasty. Evening meals were delicious and home cooked and at a very reasonable price.
Our room was clean and spacious with a lovely view over the beautiful gardens and fields beyond.
We would definitely stay at Broughton Craggs again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryBerry82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craggs_Hotel, Owner at Broughton Craggs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you again in the future.
The 'Broughton Craggs' Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
255 reviews
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#7 of 9 in Cockermouth
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
469 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
294 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broughton Craggs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broughton Craggs Hotel

Property: Broughton Craggs Hotel
Address: Craggs Road | Great Broughton, Cockermouth CA13 0XP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#5 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Broughton Craggs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Broughton Craggs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broughton Craggs Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing