We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hundith Hill Hotel(Cockermouth)
US$140
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manor House Hotel(Cockermouth)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Trout Hotel(Cockermouth)
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melbreak Country House Hotel(Workington)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pheasant Inn(Bassenthwaite)
US$224
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
137
107
34
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
137
107
34
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday carverymanager danlovely hotelcountry house hotelgrounds are lovelysteak pieevening mealoverlooking the gardenopen firehome cooked foodfour poster beddinner menustayed here for two nightssense of humourhomemade chipspublic areasfamily run
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I saw this hotel on groupon and after getting married, i thought a nice romantic break would be great to this hotel.... Everything was great, alot of the locals drink in the bar and all the staff are great. Loved the family run atmosphere and nothing was to much effort. Such a lovely part of britain and this hotel shows that aswel. Food was great for the price and so was the room. Would love ti come and stay again

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenn050388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Just returned from a weekend break at this excellent Country House Hotel near Cockermouth. The house is located in a beautiful setting, with country views from the lounges and some bedrooms, yet close to the A66 which is convenient for cockermouth 5 mins and Keswick 20 mins. The grounds are well kept and scenic. The Hotel has all the facilities expected of a Country House, dont expect ultra modern bathrooms instead traditional ensuite with bath and overhead shower and very clean. We had family room no. 15 which was large with high ceilings, floor to ceiling drapes, TV, good sized radiator and a window that opens.

The food is again traditional and cooked/presented very well, portions are large! and excellent value for money.

Finally the staff are excellent, every member of staff we encountered was very personable and always willing to help with any requests.

On the whole we greatly enjoyed our stay and would thoroughly recommend a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 15 was a good sized family room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drfcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We had 2 nights at Broughton Craggs - really great! Lovely building - a bit old-fashioned but very comfortable. We reckon we had the best room overlooking the grounds and down the valley to the river. Staff very helpful, particularly in advice re what to visit / see locally. Food good too - just watch out for the VERY hot plates at breakfast.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

After much searching of Hotels in the Cockermouth area.my partner and I chose the Craggs at Great Broughton. as our base for a short break to visit family living near by. From the moment of our arrival to our reluctant departure we were truly impressed with the warmth of welcome and attention to detail.Our evening meal was from the hotels carvery selection. Beef that was deliciously melt in the mouth . Veg cooked to perfection. A wide choice on show and wonderful desserts that really tempted the palate.Our room no 9 was spacious and warm . Spotless and well equiped. The following morning breakfast was equal to anything a larger hotel could provide and again lots of choice and all freshly cooked . The bar was well stocked and the service couldn't have been better.I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Roaring fire in the evenings was a big plus even though it wasn't too chilly outside. We both agreed it was excellent value and well worth a return next time we are in the area. Well done to all staff for making a short break more comfortable and a happy experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Just had two nights at Broughton Craggs - on a Groupon deal. The staff are great - very pleasant, welcoming and professional. Our room - room 9, was a decent size - with plenty of good drawer and wardrobe space. Marked grotty carpet.
There was a welcoming open fire burning as we arrived, and this was a lovely point. The grounds are lovely too. I was not bothered over much by the 'tired' aspects of the hotel, although it definitely is tired - but my real beef is with cleanliness. Our room needed a damn good dusting - and the carpet could have done with shampooing too. We had a stunning wooden bed, with matching huge chest of drawers and a huge matching mirror - but none of them had been dusted for some while. All had visible deposits of dust on them. The woodwork, being ornate, is naturally a dust trap - and dust is 90% human skin and I do not want to sleep in a bed that has previous guests' skin parked on it. The bed linen was immaculate and the bed supremely comfortable - so it was a relatively small point that let this room down. The whole hotel was lovely and warm. My only other negative is the mould around window frames - particularly in the bathroom - there was no ventilation in there, the windows are old and not double-glazed, so steam and condensation causes mould and mildew on the frames - this needs to be dealt with regularly, as it builds up and looks awful. A heated towel rail would also have been very useful, as we had to put our damp towels on the radiator in the bedroom - adding to the condensation on the windows. Plenty of hot water and both a bath and a decent shower to choose from. Breakfasts were great - good quality and plenty of it -full English on Saturday morning; smoked haddock and poached eggs on Sunday morning - set us up for some serious walking. Broughton Craggs normally charges £129.95 for a double room with breakfast - but we felt this was way overpriced, bearing in mind the points I have made. It is currently at the standard of a £75 per room with breakfast - needs to attend to the details before we would pay the asking rate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebraKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews