We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed with our dog for 5 nights - needed to be near Workington for business so ideally situated. We found everyone extremely friendly and helpful. It is family run and they work hard to make your stay comfortable. We stayed in the Coach House as we had the dog, so we cannot comment on the main house bedrooms. Ours was a little tired but very quiet and we had everything that we needed.
Our breakfasts were freshly cooked and delicious - they set us up for the whole day. The hotel is a large country house with sloping gardens to the front and a terrace with outdoor seating to enjoy the view.
Nearby, we found Cockermouth an interesting town and Loweswater and Buttermere stunningly beautiful. Our dog particularly enjoyed the coast at Allonby for his swims - we had the beach to ourselves and enjoyed the views across to Scotland.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TobyJug999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

A lovely hotel in its own grounds. Very peaceful and relaxing. Staff were very friendly and the food was great. Far from small meals. Peacocks were an amazing feature of the hotel. Room was lovely and a comfortable bed. Food and drink was well priced. Step daughter booked as a surprise for my husband's 60th birthday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol_ikins14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

As the Satnav had taken me on a bit of a detour, I ended up having to ring to get directions. The phone was answered immediately and I was made to feel welcome before even arriving.

The hotel is in a lovely rural location and as you arrive you are met by peacocks wandering around the grounds.

The room did not disappoint as it was traditional with a modern twist and the furniture was obviously of a very decent quality. The bathroom whilst not being the most modern, was clean and big enough to be comfortable.

Please note that this hotel is a family run concern and is slightly quirky but nothing is too much trouble for the staff. A fire was lit in one of the lounges on the evening that I stayed which was lovely for relaxing in with a drink.

The breakfast was absolutely delicious and the setting of the dining room is beautiful, even in the rain!

I would love to return to this hotel, it's not perfect but if you go with the right attitude that you are staying at a place with bags of traditional features in a very good location, you will not be disappointed. It was also so very quiet at night which meant that a good night's sleep is guaranteed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Nice country house hotel,in a great location outside Cockermouth. The room was large with tea making facilities and well decorated with wonderful views.The food was outstanding and I stayed for 2 nights.The staff are so friendly and helpful.Open fire in the lounge was a treat and I would recommend the Hotel for a break. Good WIfi connection and ample parking.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the Hotel have wonderful views over the country side.Room 11 is one of the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveed_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel on the 15th October 2013 and found it a joke from the start. Having hotel experience and not wanting to air my concerns in public and feeling that the manager then would not take any notice I wrote a letter to the owner on my return home. Well it was received as I have a signature as proof but even now six months later not even a reply from them. So although some may enjoy it there I feel I must write to highlight their problems. We up graded to the honeymoon suite. Disappointed, water stained furniture, leaking tea made, broken chair leg, cobwebs above the bed, (I even asked the maid to remove them and low and behold they were still there when we departed). Best bit, the plastic bulk head light above the bed, Very romantic! The bar area had tables that were never wiped, fires not lit in all function rooms our entire stay and it was very wet and cold. The tip box, a silver looking ice bucket placed in the middle of the bar and with the TV's on in the rooms really lowered the tone. We dined in that night as after a long journey and the weather it seemed a good choice. The food was average for the price but we were sat in a corner where there must have been a bar at sometime as the decoration and wiring still had not been finished off. We had candlelight and soft music, how romantic but this only played in one ear as the projector screen on the wall had a football match playing. When I asked why I was told the manager liked it on for his football! The breakfast was good and the lady of the house introduced us to her father who explained all the local areas to us. We had a great time that day thanks to their advice. Overall we found the whole hotel tired and lacking tender care. Don't open any desks to look for games or books as all you would find is someones rubbish and take a spare bulb incase you need one.

Room Tip: Ask to see them first before checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 11Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton C, Manager at Broughton Craggs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for your comments on your stay in October. I would like to start by apologising that your experience here was not a pleasant one.

Because of your written comments a subjective review of your room was mad and action had been taken i.e. removal of furniture.

At your request about cobwebs, these were immediately removed by myself.

The England game was requested by another guest.

As you noted about the removal of the restaurant bar, there was ongoing refurbishments being made.

Again many apologies for your inconveniences and hope that a return visit you will see the improvements been made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Recently stayed here with my family, we all had thoroughly had great weekend, in a lovely friendly family run hotel, great atmosphere and great value for money!
Had our first evening meal here, great quality food and not too expensive and some hotels tend to be.
Worth a visit :)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

my wife and I stayed there over the last 2 nights . great location . food excellent. staff especially the manager Dan was top notch . Dan was a workhorse always there for you . There room we were in needed some tlc as did most of the building. if using sat nav stay on the A66 when it tells you to take the 2nd exit at the next roundabout it takes you down a very narrow dirty farm track which doe's eventually gets you to broughton crags . follow the sign for great broughton which is next on the right a short distance further on .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bestfriendted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
306 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
165 reviews
5.7 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
502 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broughton Craggs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broughton Craggs Hotel

Address: Craggs Road | Great Broughton, Cockermouth CA13 0XP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#5 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range: £58 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Broughton Craggs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Broughton Craggs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broughton Craggs Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing