We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“weekend away”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Have just returned from a weekend at Broughton Craggs. Took an old & easily confused parent there. All staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. The food was all freshly cooked to order, thanks to the lovely Faye. Lots of homemade desserts and puddings as well. breakfasts were all fresh, not kept warm!
Very comfortable beds and bedrooms with beautiful views. Large baths and spotlessly clean bathrooms.
Large patio area to sit and enjoy the sun and view the well kept gardens.
Would definitely recommend this little hidden treasure of a hotel and look forward to returning later this year, to enjoy more homemade lemon meringue!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    100
    32
    12
    4
See reviews for
35
171
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding reception here at the end of May. The hotel, staff, food and entertainment were all excellent. We had a perfect day and the grounds are beautiful. Made for some nice pictures. Would highly recommend this as a venue to others!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good location, handy for the mountains, shopping in Cockermouth or going to the cost. Good accommodation, warm rooms and comfortable beds. Large hearty breakfast and enjoyable evening meals. . All staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the garden/lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M4zzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdonia National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed with our dog for 5 nights - needed to be near Workington for business so ideally situated. We found everyone extremely friendly and helpful. It is family run and they work hard to make your stay comfortable. We stayed in the Coach House as we had the dog, so we cannot comment on the main house bedrooms. Ours was a little tired but very quiet and we had everything that we needed.
Our breakfasts were freshly cooked and delicious - they set us up for the whole day. The hotel is a large country house with sloping gardens to the front and a terrace with outdoor seating to enjoy the view.
Nearby, we found Cockermouth an interesting town and Loweswater and Buttermere stunningly beautiful. Our dog particularly enjoyed the coast at Allonby for his swims - we had the beach to ourselves and enjoyed the views across to Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TobyJug999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A lovely hotel in its own grounds. Very peaceful and relaxing. Staff were very friendly and the food was great. Far from small meals. Peacocks were an amazing feature of the hotel. Room was lovely and a comfortable bed. Food and drink was well priced. Step daughter booked as a surprise for my husband's 60th birthday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol_ikins14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

As the Satnav had taken me on a bit of a detour, I ended up having to ring to get directions. The phone was answered immediately and I was made to feel welcome before even arriving.

The hotel is in a lovely rural location and as you arrive you are met by peacocks wandering around the grounds.

The room did not disappoint as it was traditional with a modern twist and the furniture was obviously of a very decent quality. The bathroom whilst not being the most modern, was clean and big enough to be comfortable.

Please note that this hotel is a family run concern and is slightly quirky but nothing is too much trouble for the staff. A fire was lit in one of the lounges on the evening that I stayed which was lovely for relaxing in with a drink.

The breakfast was absolutely delicious and the setting of the dining room is beautiful, even in the rain!

I would love to return to this hotel, it's not perfect but if you go with the right attitude that you are staying at a place with bags of traditional features in a very good location, you will not be disappointed. It was also so very quiet at night which meant that a good night's sleep is guaranteed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Nice country house hotel,in a great location outside Cockermouth. The room was large with tea making facilities and well decorated with wonderful views.The food was outstanding and I stayed for 2 nights.The staff are so friendly and helpful.Open fire in the lounge was a treat and I would recommend the Hotel for a break. Good WIfi connection and ample parking.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the Hotel have wonderful views over the country side.Room 11 is one of the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveed_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
5.7 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
457 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
289 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
241 reviews
9.6 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broughton Craggs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broughton Craggs Hotel

Property: Broughton Craggs Hotel
Address: Craggs Road | Great Broughton, Cockermouth CA13 0XP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#5 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Broughton Craggs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Broughton Craggs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broughton Craggs Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing