We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Hotel”
Review of Hundith Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hundith Hill Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Atherton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Favourite Hotel”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My friend and I have stayed many times at the Hundith Hotel. We actually get withdrawal symptoms if we do not go there regularly! We have always found the staff friendly and helpful. Owner Phil always has a story to tell and a comment to make. Meals in either the dining room or bar are excellent -nothing is too much trouble and we like meeting all the locals who also eat there -a good sign ! .Rooms are clean,comfortable and well decorated . Views from the Hotel are outstanding .

Room Tip: Outside room are of a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    53
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
54
62
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

What a great couple of nights we had. Gala buffet and singer was unbelievable.
Good clean rooms very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: In the courtyard rooms they did tell me that they allow in some rooms dogs. Booking now for next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Stayed here for one night following a function.
Room clean and tidy. Excellent walk-in shower. Good breakfast. Staff couldn't be more helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barrowboy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagelscliffe
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We have just returned from Hundith Hill Hotel stayed Saturday night 5th November 2011 we where directed to our room in the Court yard a little disappointed that we did not have a room with a view over Lorton Vale .
But we need not have worried the room was exceptional, tastefully decorated and very spacious, the bathroom was clean and immaculately maintained on our visit a wedding was in full swing we where treated as a customer and looked after well.
At so many Hotels when weddings are taking place some times customers that are not with the wedding party are ignored slightly this was not the case at Hundith hill well done to the staff and management.

In the Morning we were located seats away from the wedding party for breakfast we herd no noise from the wedding evening celebrations.
We would recommend this hotel for a nice relaxing stay we will be returning,the location is stunning with Beautiful landscapes in every direction and ideal for Photography enthusiasts to us as a base for the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 18 in the court yard area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed here last minute, the staff are very helpful and friendly, we were made more than welcome as soon as we walked through the door .The bedroom had lovely decor, comfy bed, bathroom excellent. Had meal in bar which didn't disappoint, nice wine, and tasty local ale .can't wait to go back

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unclebuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Great hotel, gorgeous! Room was beautiful, clean comfortable, slept like a log, I loved that bed! Outstanding food

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

went here for lunch and it was a very nice place its hidden away (be careful not to pass it) on the way to lorton the menu you was basic and very 80s but the food was all homemade and good portions. When i first went in i thought it was a old folks home a lot of older diners.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cumbrianfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
0.9 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
641 reviews
2.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
462 reviews
3.1 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
291 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
23.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hundith Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hundith Hill Hotel

Property: Hundith Hill Hotel
Address: Hillway Lorton Road, Cockermouth CA13 9DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#6 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hundith Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sumptuous furnishings and wonderful views across the Lorton Valley, Hundith Hill Hotel sits on the outskirts of Cockermouth. A short drive from Keswick, the traditional rooms offer luxury en suite bathrooms.The Hundith Hill Hotel is set in a grand country house, surrounded by beautiful countryside and a large pleasant garden. With views of the Cumbrian Fells, the hotel has free private parking for guests. Free Wi-Fi is also accessible in public areas.The elegant rooms are individually decorated with floral and satin fabrics, and some feature exposed beams and scenic views. All rooms offer tea and coffee facilities and a hairdryer, and a wake-up service is also available.The popular Hundith Hill Restaurant serves a varied menu with European influences, and the informal bar menu offers classic pub food and light lunches. Traditional cooked breakfasts and packed lunches are also available daily.On the edge of the Lake District, Hundith Hill is just 20 minutes’ drive from the Solway Coast. The famous lakes are within easy reach, and a number of walking routes are close by. Crummock Water can be reached in 10 minutes, and Derwent Water is 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hundith Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hundith Hill Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing