We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & well-placed”
Review of Hundith Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hundith Hill Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendly & well-placed”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Very friendly and good value for money. A stone's throw from the Buttermere Valley and great walking country.
Only a short way from the historic market town of Cockermouth and close to St Bees and Whitehaven.

Room Tip: For-poster with giant bath! Just ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    53
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
54
62
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
carlisle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Had our wedding on the 14th of July 2012, everything ran like clockwork. The staff were simply fantastic, from helping us organise the day, setting up the cake, nothing was to much trouble. The food was beautful the buffet was spot on. What with the spectacular veiws of the lakes, the sunny weather, We could have not wished for more. We had over 40 guests stay the night some ventured from as far as London, and everyone commented on the excellent rooms and breakfast/catering. We would just like say a big thankyou to all the fab staff making our day the best it could possibly be. xxx
Craig & Yvonne Errington... submitted by Erin Chief bridesmaid

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

What can i say about this hotel ! from going up the drive to be met by the spectacular views over the hills of the Lake District " stunning " ,the warm welcolme from the staff, nothing was to much trouble. The delicous wedding breakfast and evening buffet to the disco was wonderful . This was one of the best weddings i have had the pleasure to attend.

Room Tip: I wish i had stayed the night but fully booked !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris21Hexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We had the good fortune to attend our son's wedding reception at Hundith Hill and then stay the night. Everything was well organised a the staff were friendly and helpful. Thee room in the annexe was large, comfortable and quiet, with a relly good bathroom/shower. Breakfast next morning was a really good, typical 'full English'.
We both felt it had been a superb place tio hold the reception, and intend to return when time permits.
Chris and Brenda Simpson

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

On our Recent trip to the UK and The Cockermouth area we stayed nearby and had a recommendation to have dinner at the Hundith hotel, Upon arriving to the hotel through the beautiful gardens we were greeted as we entered buy the friendly staff, we were given the options of a restaurant or bar meal we decided on the bar meal and found it to be outstanding! the meals were huge and full of flavour and do recommend the beetroot and camembert entree!! we ended up eating here all 3 nights we stayed in Cockermouth and i do suggest it to anyone who visits the region!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We chose this hotel after doing a search in the area for a short romantic two day break, and we found a small piece of heaven. The food was fantastic, it went beyond that in fact, the quality and standard, not to mention the portions size. The superior room as amazing, spotless and romantic and the overall impression of the room and the hotel made our first stay together as a couple even more special.
We can't praise the hotel staff highly enough, they were friendly, polite and welcoming and dealt with any question without issue.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who would like that something a bit special.
I would like to add to a previous comment re the mash, sublime !!!!!!!

Room Tip: Our room was fantastic, and from overheard conversation all the rooms were of the same standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatnohair123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This hotel is set among the green hills of Cumbria. We were attending a 50th wedding anniversary party with an overnight stay. Our room was located in the annex and was spacious, clean and well decorated. The en-suite was large with a good, powerful and easy to operate shower. The beds were comfortable, though perhaps the duvets were a bit heavy for June.
The anniversary meal was delicious, the service good. Breakfast likewise.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try no 17. There is parking just outside so easy for transfer of cases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warwicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
0.9 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
641 reviews
2.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
462 reviews
3.1 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
291 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
23.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hundith Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hundith Hill Hotel

Property: Hundith Hill Hotel
Address: Hillway Lorton Road, Cockermouth CA13 9DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#6 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hundith Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sumptuous furnishings and wonderful views across the Lorton Valley, Hundith Hill Hotel sits on the outskirts of Cockermouth. A short drive from Keswick, the traditional rooms offer luxury en suite bathrooms.The Hundith Hill Hotel is set in a grand country house, surrounded by beautiful countryside and a large pleasant garden. With views of the Cumbrian Fells, the hotel has free private parking for guests. Free Wi-Fi is also accessible in public areas.The elegant rooms are individually decorated with floral and satin fabrics, and some feature exposed beams and scenic views. All rooms offer tea and coffee facilities and a hairdryer, and a wake-up service is also available.The popular Hundith Hill Restaurant serves a varied menu with European influences, and the informal bar menu offers classic pub food and light lunches. Traditional cooked breakfasts and packed lunches are also available daily.On the edge of the Lake District, Hundith Hill is just 20 minutes’ drive from the Solway Coast. The famous lakes are within easy reach, and a number of walking routes are close by. Crummock Water can be reached in 10 minutes, and Derwent Water is 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hundith Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hundith Hill Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing