We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely week-end break”
Review of Hundith Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hundith Hill Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely week-end break”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Went for a wedding, but stayed for three nights. Furnishings are very good quality. Very clean. Worth paying extra for balcony room overlooking mountains. Staff were excellent. Breakfast was very good, but be aware you pay full price if like myself you only have tea and toast and not full English.

Room Tip: New wing but only with balcony, other side overlooks back of kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    53
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
54
62
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryport
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hundith Hill after attending a Ladies night dinner there. The rooms are spacious with excellent furnishings, we had a really nice view from our room. The comfort of the bed was wonderful we slept like a couple of babies (my husband is usually a very poor sleeper). The bathrooms are just lovely with large corner bath. As for the breakfast they are huge if you have a big appetite with enormous choices for you including the usual fresh juices (the real stuff) cereals etc. The hotel is in a really tranquil place for lots of R&R or the Lakes are easily accessible from here. All in all a great getaway with very pleasant and accommodating staff. I would definitely stay here again. Room rates are very reasonable too.

Room Tip: Every room is quiet to get a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haslamtracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We attended a wedding here on Saturday, we also stayed for 2 nights. On the whole a very pleasant hotel, nice staff. Lovely setting. A few let downs...breakfast finished at 9.30 even on the Sunday. The coffee was really bad, instant and tasteless. Just a few tweaks would make this hotel a lot classier. Get rid of the plastic flowers.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 7, it's above the staff entrance and the door bangs quite a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lelfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a function on Friday night. We found that the room was very well furnished with good soft furnishings and flat screen T.V. The bed was very comfortable and the room kept at a nice temperature. The en-suite was also very clean and tidy. Breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice for hot & cold breakfasts.

The hotel is set in its own grounds and has views across the surrounding country side. The hotel is a short drive away from Cockermouth. Yes I would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungatHeart90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel in December last year as our friends were getting married in the Lake District. Absolutely beautiful location and a beautiful hotel . The only down point was the staff said when we arrived that we couldn't check in until 2pm they didn't mention this at the time of booking otherwise we wouldn't have booked as the wedding started at 1pm at nearby bassenthwaite hall hotel they charged us a £25 fee for checking in early even though the hotel was empty and our room was ready for our arrival

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirsty p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

stayed here for valentines special , absolutely superb the rooms were spacious and very clean .we had the luxury room with ensuite .amazing views of the lakedistrict the food was of a very high standard . nothing was any trouble to them very polite and curtiuos would definetly recommend I give it 5 stars !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecumbrians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I had a five day stay at the Hundith recently and couldn't fault anything. Food, room, staff and location were excellent. Definately visiting again. One small glitch was that I was in room seven, which is above the staff/kitchen door. It shuts with a BANG everytime somebody uses it. It disturbed me a couple of times.

Room Tip: If you get room seven, ask for another....It's right above the kitchen/staff door, which shuts w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisb5259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
2.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
464 reviews
23.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
705 reviews
5.1 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,626 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hundith Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hundith Hill Hotel

Property: Hundith Hill Hotel
Address: Hillway Lorton Road, Cockermouth CA13 9DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#6 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hundith Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sumptuous furnishings and wonderful views across the Lorton Valley, Hundith Hill Hotel sits on the outskirts of Cockermouth. A short drive from Keswick, the traditional rooms offer luxury en suite bathrooms.The Hundith Hill Hotel is set in a grand country house, surrounded by beautiful countryside and a large pleasant garden. With views of the Cumbrian Fells, the hotel has free private parking for guests. Free Wi-Fi is also accessible in public areas.The elegant rooms are individually decorated with floral and satin fabrics, and some feature exposed beams and scenic views. All rooms offer tea and coffee facilities and a hairdryer, and a wake-up service is also available.The popular Hundith Hill Restaurant serves a varied menu with European influences, and the informal bar menu offers classic pub food and light lunches. Traditional cooked breakfasts and packed lunches are also available daily.On the edge of the Lake District, Hundith Hill is just 20 minutes’ drive from the Solway Coast. The famous lakes are within easy reach, and a number of walking routes are close by. Crummock Water can be reached in 10 minutes, and Derwent Water is 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hundith Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hundith Hill Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing